Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Research: Researching with Databases

A guide to career research resources from Polk State Libraries.

Overview

This guide will teach you how to:

  • Find books & ebooks on a career
  • Research a career with the databases

What is a Database?

A very simple definition of a database -- A collection of information that can be accessed and searched through the Internet.

Polk State Libraries subscribes to over 100 databases.  Many are specialized and contain magazine and newspaper articles on a specific topic such as: Careers, Education, Psychology, Health Sciences etc.  

The databases are organized either alphabetically or by subject.  If you are not sure which database will be most useful. choose the subject listing, or consult with the librarian.

Polk State Libraries' Databases

As a student at Polk, you have access to many career databases including:
(Require log in to view them)

  • Career Transitions
    (Career Transitions is a self-paced resource that walks you, the job-seeker, through the entire process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities, to ultimately improving the chances of landing a job).
  • O*Net Online
    (Provides occupational information, including descriptors on hundreds of occupations).
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    (The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years).
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    (Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED [General Educational Development] to the GRE [Graduate Record Examination General Test]).

  

Logging In @ Polk State Libraries

LOGGING INTO YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT

COLLEGE: Make sure POLK STATE COLLEGE is selected in the drop down menu.
BORROWER ID = STUDENT ID #
PIN = LAST 4 DIGITS OF STUDENT ID #

Be sure to capitalize the letter in your student ID.

Your Library Account allows you to use access Polk State Libraries' databases, renew book loans, and request books from Florida's 28 state colleges and 12 state universities.


 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.