Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Effective and efficient database searches retrieve the items that are most closely matched to your research topic, reducing the time that you will have to spend evaluating the results. Each research tool is different, but you can find out which search strategies are supported by using the Help provided in the tool. Even Google has Help!
Great 1 Stop Shops (for Almost Any Topic)
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Great for Information on Controversial Topics
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Information About Authors & Their Works
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Covering a vast array of the world's most influential people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers, Biography in Context is continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
The common Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine search terms or strings (multiple search terms) to either expand or narrow searches.
- Use AND to narrow results. Combining meteor AND "International Space Station" will retrieve items that contain both concepts, but exclude items that contain only one or the other.
- Use OR to expand results. A search for meteor OR "shooting star" retrieves items that contain either one of the concepts. The OR operator works best with similar terms, such as the academic and informal versions of one concept (example: "meteor" and "shooting star").
- Use NOT before a search term to exclude all results that contain the specified term – very narrowing!
Most databases offer advanced search forms that allow you to combine concepts using Boolean operators.