Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Databases: An Overview

Welcome!

Interested in learning how to research on a particular career? You're at the right spot! 

Polk State Libraries has a variety of career databases. Select a tab below for an overview. 

Or, browse all career databases

 

Career Databases

In Ferguson's Career Guidance Center database, click on the menu in the upper left to see various options

In a Profession Profile, click Share to save the link to the page (Record URL) and browse Related Professions to see other similar careers. Click "View Full Article" to scroll through all the information listed under the Table of Contents.

Have Questions? Polk State College librarians can help you find answers! Use Ask a Librarian for assistance.  

Search for a particular profession in the Occupational Outlook Handbook. Or, browse by occupation group. 

Not finding what you're looking for? Use the A--Z index to see if it is classified under a different job title. Or, use Ask a Librarian! 

 

Video attribution to LSC-CyFair Library. Shared with permission.

Not sure what type of career you are interested in? Take the O*NET Interest Profiler to explore careers that match your interests. 

Each occupation provides detailed information. Go to Easy Read for a printable overview! 

Easy Read is provided by My Next Move, O*Net Online's sister site. From here, print out the overview, watch a career video, get local salary information, and more! 

Not finding what you're looking for? Use Ask a Librarian for assistance. 

In Films on Demand, the Careers and Job Search subject category can be browsed. Start by clicking on the three lines in the upper left and then selecting Careers and Job Search. 

From here, browse by different categories. Make sure to click the Apply button to apply the selection. 

 

Or, search for a series called:  Career Q & A: Professional Advice and Insights

Browse the different titles in the series. 

Or, search Career Q&A and your chosen profession. You may have to try different ways to describe your career.

For example: Career Q&A teacher  

The Transcript section can help with getting detailed information from a program. Remember to cite any information you use. 

Have questions? Use Ask A Librarian! 

Gale: Vocations and Careers is an excellent database for finding career-related articles from trade publications (e.g. Popular Mechanics, Cosmetics Business, Professional Builder, and so forth) as well as from peer-reviewed journals. 

Stuck? Use Ask a Librarian for assistance! 

Create a free account to access the material in Peterson's Test Prep

Salem Press has several ebooks on a variety of careers. 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.