Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WOH1012 World Civilization to 1500: Home

Professor Morgan's Early India assignment online & paper resources

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library. Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk. Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

2) Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

 

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

3) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

4) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number comes up Invalid or Expired, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

Logging Into Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top center of the page & click Library/TLCC.

3) In the center of the page, click on Articles/Databases.

4) Set top menu to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number.

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

HINDUISM

A Dictionary of Asian MythologyREF BL1005 .L46 2001 c.1

Dictionary of Hindu Lore and LegendREF BL1105 .D35 2002

Handbook of Hindu MythologyREF BL1111.4 .W55 2003 

BUDDHISM

A Dictionary of Asian MythologyREF BL1005 .L46 2001 c.1

Encyclopedia of Buddhism (two volumes): REF BQ128 .E62 2004 v.1 & v.2

Dictionary of BuddhismREF BQ130 .K46 2003

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Buddhist WisdomREF BQ4012 .F36 2000 c.1

CONFUCIANISM

World Eras: Imperial China. REF DS 749.3 .I46 2003 v.7

HISTORY

Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian CivilizationsREF DS12 .H5 2004

CULTURE

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life: The Ancient WorldREF GT 31 .G74 2004 v.1

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion: Volume 3REF G507 .E53 2005 v.3

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture: Volume 2REF GT2850 .E53 2003 v.2

PSC eBooks

Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.

In the first field, type in "ancient India," or separate "ancient" and "India" into the first two fields; more topics may be added in the other fields to narrow down your search, such as "architecture," "culture, " and "government." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches & generate a list of matching pages).

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

‚ÄčEncyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica.

After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access magazines, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in India as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the screen. On the next page, go to the top left corner and click History, then scroll down to India from the Paleolithic Period to the Decline of the Indus Civilization, which begins the ancient history section. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about specific India topics -- reference, history, philosophy, science/technology, people, etc. -- followed by good websites.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.

On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and hold down the Shift key while selecting World History -- Origins of Human Society (prehistory-4000 BCE), World History -- Early Civilizations (3999 BCE-1000 BCE), and World History -- Classical Periods (999 BCD-500 CE). 

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

U.S. History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources.

On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in your search.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online, including the Encyclopedia of India (also available in the library's Reference books collection).

Search for your specific topics by Keyword, available in the pull-down menus beside the search fields.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Websites

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.