Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for gentrification research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Divided City by
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Who really benefits from urban revival? Cities such as Pittsburgh, Detroit, Cleveland, and Baltimore are experiencing unimaginable levels of growth, however, vast areas in these same cities that house thousands of people living in poverty see little or no new hope or opportunity. Urban practitioner and scholar Alan Mallach shows us what has happened over the past 15 to 20 years in these industrial cities as they have undergone unprecedented, unexpected revival. Mallach pulls in insightful research and data to spotlight these changes while placing them in their larger economic, social, and political context. He also offers strategies to foster greater equality and opportunity.
Race, Class, and Gentrification in Brooklyn by
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
In this book, the authors "revisit" two iconic Brooklyn neighborhoods, Crown Heights-Prospect-Lefferts Gardens and Greenpoint-Williamsburg, where they have been active scholars since the 1970s. Krase and DeSena's comprehensive view from the street describes and analyses the neighborhoods' decline and rise with a focus on race and social class. They look closely at the strategies used to resist and promote neighborhood change and conclude with an analysis of the ways in which these neighborhoods contribute to current images and trends in Brooklyn. This book contributes to a better understanding of the elevated status of Brooklyn as a global city and destination place.
What a City Is For by
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Portland, Oregon, is one of the most beautiful, livable cities in the United States, but it is also the whitest city in the country. This is not circumstance; the city has a long history of officially sanctioned racialized displacement that continues today. Matt Hern investigates gentrification and displacement, focusing on the case of Portland, Oregon's systematic dispersal of black residents through market-driven gentrification and city-renewal policies from its Albina neighborhood. In an engaging narrative, Hern questions the notions of development, private property, and ownership and argues that home ownership drives inequality and suggests repudiating development in favor of an incrementalistic, non-market-driven unfolding of the city.
Gentrification and the Housing Crisis by
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Urban populations are on the rise, fueling a welcome rejuvenation of U.S. cities, many of which have been decaying since the suburban boom of the mid-twentieth century. But such renewal has resulted in the displacement of original residents, who can no longer keep pace with rising rents. Gentrification is often blamed for contributing to the housing crisis, but what about the improvements it has brought to America's cities? The diverse perspectives in this volume explore the different effects of gentrification and imagine solutions for accommodating everyone in this changing urban landscape.
How to Kill a City by
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
A journey to the front lines of the battle for the future of American cities, uncovering the massive, systemic forces behind gentrification -- and the lives that are altered in the process. Peter Moskowitz takes readers from the kitchen tables of hurting families who can no longer afford their homes to the corporate boardrooms and political backrooms where destructive housing policies are devised. Moskowitz uncovers the massive, systemic forces behind gentrification in New Orleans, Detroit, San Francisco, and New York. In the fight for economic opportunity and racial justice, nothing could be more important than housing.
The New Urban Crisis by
Publication Date: 2017-04-11
In recent years, the young, educated, and affluent have surged back into cities, reversing decades of suburban flight and urban decline. And yet all is not well, Richard Florida argues in The New Urban Crisis. Florida demonstrates how the same forces that power the growth of the world's superstar cities also generate their vexing challenges: gentrification, unaffordability, segregation, and inequality. Meanwhile, many more cities still stagnate, and middle-class neighborhoods everywhere are disappearing. This book offers a compelling diagnosis of our economic ills and a bold prescription for more inclusive cities capable of ensuring growth and prosperity for all.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowProvides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.