We have access to over 100 scholarly databases which can be accessed through the Articles/Databases link located on the library's home page.
The databases can be sorted by subjects such as Art and Humanities, Biographies, Business, Education, Careers, Videos, News and Current Events, Health & Medicine, Testing Resources, Literature, and more. Additionally, if you click on the information icon at the end of a database title, you can read a brief summary.
Faculty/Staff will use their email/Office 365 login information to access the databases.
If you are interested in using streaming media in your Canvas course, try Films on Demand and Academic Video Online. They include thousands of videos covering a wide variety of subject areas as well as numerous producers such as PBS, HBO, and more.
Databases can be demonstrated for your students upon request, If you would like to request a library instruction session for your students, please contact us through these forms:
Winter Haven Faculty Library Instruction Request Form
Lakeland Faculty Library Instruction Request Form
A librarian will design a custom instruction session for your course.
Please allow at least 2 business days prior to your requested session.
The Polk State library catalog contains more than just listings for physical books. Many of the resources in the 100+ databases we subscribe to are also accessible directly via the catalog.
|
Access the catalog directly HERE or by starting at the Polk State College homepage https://www.polk.edu and selecting Library/TLCC, then choosing Books/Catalog.
Filters along the left column and tabs at the top enable you to quickly narrow search results to find exactly what you need.
View abstracts by selecting the titles (links).
View digital materials in their entirety by logging in with your Polk State email credentials on the Office 365 Sign in screen.
Share interesting ebooks, articles, videos, and other resources with your classes by using the permalink for a specific item. |
Sample ebook record in the library catalog: |
|
To share a search, rather than individual results, click on the QR code in the upper right of the search results page.
The QR code and/or the link can be shared with students. |
|
Additional details on search in the library catalog can be found on this Library Guide: https://libguides.polk.edu/PrimoVE_LibraryCatalog/Books_ebooks
Have a question about the catalog? Ask a librarian! We are always happy to assist.
LibGuides are custom web pages that offer research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your Polk State Librarians.
Take a look at our current LibGuides here:
Do you have a very unique assignment? In addition to utilizing the guides we have already created, you may also request to have a LibGuide created for your course, or for a specific assignment to assist your students with their research needs. Click the link below for the request form affiliated with your campus & a librarian will be in contact with you to further discuss your students' research needs. We would be happy to create a custom LibGuide for you!
All campus link to LibGuide Development for Faculty
Ask a Librarian is a statewide service that connects students to librarians from Florida via live chat, text, or email. Polk State Librarians staff this desk during the following hours (may vary in the summer, between terms, or on holidays):
Statewide librarians are available until midnight Sunday through Thursday and 10am to 5pm Friday and Saturday.
If your students need help after hours, they may send an email request through Ask a Librarian & it will typically be answered within a day or two.
Access to this service is available here:
Students may access this service via a link in their Canvas courses as well, and through a link on the Library's homepage. Also, they may click the link located at the top of every LibGuide that says "Click here to get help from a Polk State Librarian" or by clicking on the "Ask a Librarian" button located on the upper right side of the screen in every LibGuide.
Your friendly Polk State Librarians!
Directors
