Skip to main content

HUM2020 - Introduction to Humanities-Myth of Osiris: Home

Professor Morgan's Myth of Osiris assignment

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library. Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk. Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

2) Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

 

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College. Borrower ID is your Student ID number. PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, try again. If it still doesn't work, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

PSC Database Access

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top center of the page & click Library/TLCC.

3) In the center of the page, click on Articles/Databases.

4) Set top menu to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC's network.

Reference Books: Myth of Osiris

The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend, Volume 2REF BL303 .M45 2004 v.2

Mythology: An Illustrated Encyclopedia: REF BL 311 .M95 1980

The Oxford Companion to World Mythology: REF BL312 .L44 2005

Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities: REF BL782 .C67 2000 c.1

Handbook of Egyptian Mythology: REF BL 2441.3 .P56 2002 c.1

The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt: REF BL 2450 .G6 W56 2003

PSC eBooks

Mythology-Related Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

eBook Collection (EBSCO): 80,000 electronic books (and counting). Type in "Osiris" for a search. From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous and Next buttons on the top right-hand corner will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index) or Search this eContent, which is located at the bottom left-hand corner.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

‚ÄčEncyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica; citations in MLA & APA formats appear at the bottom of each encyclopedia entry. After typing in "Osiris" as your search, the encyclopedia entries providing the best information are "Osiris," "Egypt from the article hell (religions)," and "Varieties of salvation in world religions."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online. Change the first search menu to Subject, then type in "Osiris."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources. On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in "Osiris myth" and look at Reference in the middle of the results list.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Websites

Subject Guide

Ask-a-Librarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.