Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for nicotine/tobacco research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Cigarette by
Call Number: Polk\Winter Haven Circulation HD9149.C43 U663 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Finalist for the Hagley Prize in Business History A Smithsonian Book of the Year "Vaping gets all the attention now, but Milov's thorough study reminds us that smoking has always intersected with the government, for better or worse."--New York Times Book Review Tobacco is the quintessential American product. From Jamestown to the Marlboro Man, the plant occupied the heart of the nation's economy and expressed its enduring myths. But today smoking rates have declined and smokers are exiled from many public spaces. The story of tobacco's fortunes may seem straightforward: science triumphed over our addictive habits and the cynical machinations of tobacco executives. Yet the reality is more complicated. Both the cigarette's popularity and its eventual decline reflect a parallel course of shifting political priorities. The tobacco industry flourished with the help of the state, but it was the concerted efforts of citizen nonsmokers who organized to fight for their right to clean air that led to its undoing. After the Great Depression, public officials and organized tobacco farmers worked together to ensure that the government's regulatory muscle was more often deployed to promote tobacco than to protect the public from its harms. Even as evidence of the cigarette's connection to cancer grew, medical experts could not convince officials to change their stance. What turned the tide, Sarah Milov argues, was a new kind of politics: a movement for nonsmokers' rights. Activists and public-interest lawyers took to the courts, the streets, city councils, and boardrooms to argue for smoke-free workplaces and allied with scientists to lobby elected officials. The Cigarette restores politics to its rightful place in the tale of tobacco's rise and fall, illustrating America's continuing battles over corporate influence, individual responsibility, collective choice, and the scope of governmental power.
Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, Mindfulness, and Hypnosis for Smoking Cessation by
Publication Date: 2018-11-12
A scientifically informed intervention to help smokers quit for life, based in cognitive-behavioral therapy Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, Mindfulness, and Hypnosis for Smoking Cessation: A Scientifically Informed Intervention presents a comprehensive program developed by noted experts to help smokers achieve their goal of life-long abstinence from smoking. This brief, cost-effective intervention, called The Winning Edge, incorporates state-of-the-science advances and best clinical practices in the treatment of tobacco addiction and offers participants a unique blend of strategies based on cognitive-behavioral, mindfulness, and hypnotic approaches to achieve smoking cessation. This valuable treatment guide, developed and refined over the past 30 years, provides all of the information necessary for health care providers to implement the program on a group or individual basis. This important resource: Provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to conducting the program, with scripts for providers and handouts for participants Explains the scientific basis for the many strategies of cognitive, behavioral, and affective change in The Winning Edge program Contains information for treatment providers on frequently asked questions, adapting and tailoring the program to the needs of participants, and overcoming challenges, ambivalence, and resistance to stop smoking Written for a wide audience of mental health professionals, Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, Mindfulness, and Hypnosis for Smoking Cessation: A Scientifically Informed Intervention offers a comprehensive, science-based approach to help participants achieve their goal of a smoke-free life.
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Tobacco use is the world's leading preventable cause of death. This title explores the history of tobacco, its effects on the body, government policies toward it, and ways that users can quit. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The Vaping Controversy by
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
This work provides an evenhanded and authoritative overview of vaping and its impact on American culture and public health, especially among younger Americans. The 21st Century Turning Points series is a one-stop resource for understanding the people and events changing America today. This volume is devoted to the rapid rise of vaping across the nation, especially among young people. This trend has prompted fierce debate in communities across the country, with some people heralding "e-cigarettes" and other vaping devices as valuable smoking cessation tools and others condemning them for being unhealthy in their own right--and a gateway to future cigarette consumption. The Vaping Controversy describes the key events and people that provided the foundation for the rise of e-cigarettes and vaping, from governmental and medical efforts to reduce traditional cigarette smoking to the emergence and rapid spread of an entire industry devoted to selling vaping devices and accessories. This volume also explores how vaping has influenced youth culture and high school life, its impact on "old school" tobacco companies, and the increasingly visible partisan divide in attitudes about the public health impact of vaping. Devotes individual entries to specific events and milestones Profiles important activists and other notable figures Explores the lasting impact of the event on American life in essays Includes a bibliography of sources for further study
Big Vape by
Call Number: Polk\Lakeland Circulation; HD9130.5 .D83 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
"Fast-paced and impressively researched, this detailed account sings." --Publishers Weekly, starred review A Publishers Weekly Top Ten Book of the Summer (2021) A propulsive, eye-opening work of reporting, chronicling the rise of Juul and the birth of a new addiction It began with a smoke break. James Monsees and Adam Bowen were two ambitious graduate students at Stanford, and in between puffs after class they dreamed of a way to quit smoking. Their solution became the Juul, a sleek, modern device that could vaporize nicotine into a conveniently potent dosage. The company they built around that device, Juul Labs, would go on to become a $38 billion dollar company and draw blame for addicting a whole new generation of underage tobacco users. Time magazine reporter Jamie Ducharme follows Monsees and Bowen as they create Juul and, in the process, go from public health visionaries and Silicon Valley wunderkinds to two of the most controversial businessmen in the country. With rigorous reporting and clear-eyed prose that reads like a nonfiction thriller, Big Vape uses the dramatic rise of Juul to tell a larger story of big business, Big Tobacco, and the high cost of a product that was too good to be true.
The Devil's Playbook by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation HV5748 .E57 2021
Publication Date: 2021-05-25
Big Tobacco meets Silicon Valley in this "deeply reported and illuminating" (The New York Times Book Review)corporate expose of what happened when two of the most notorious industries collided-and the vaping epidemic was born. "The best business book I've read since Bad Blood."-Jonathan Eig, New York Times bestselling author of Ali- A Life Howard Willard lusted after Juul. As the CEO of tobacco giant Philip Morris's parent company and a veteran of the industry's long fight to avoid being regulated out of existence, he grew obsessed with a prize he believed could save his company-the e-cigarette, a product with all the addictive upside of the original without the same apparent health risks and bad press. Meanwhile, in Silicon Valley, Adam Bowen and James Monsees began working on a device that was meant to save lives and destroy Big Tobacco, but they ended up baking the industry's DNA into their invention's science and marketing. Ultimately, Juul's e-cigarette was so effective and so market-dominating that it put the company on a collision course with Philip Morris and sparked one of the most explosive public health crises in recent memory. In a deeply reported account, award-winning journalist Lauren Etter tells a riveting story of greed and deception in one of the biggest botched deals in business history.Etter shows how Philip Morris's struggle to innovate left Willard desperate to acquire Juul, even as his own team sounded alarms about the startup's reliance on underage customers. And she shows how Juul's executives negotiated a lavish deal that let them pocket the lion's share of Philip Morris's $12.8 billion investment while government regulators and furious parents mounted a campaign to hold the company's feet to the fire. TheDevil'sPlaybook is the inside story of how Juul's embodiment of Silicon Valley's "move fast and break things" ethos wrought havoc on American health, and how a beleaguered tobacco company was seduced by the promise of a new generation of addicted customers. With both companies' eyes on the financial prize, neither anticipated the sudden outbreak of vaping-linked deaths that would terrorize a nation, crater Juul's value, end Willard's career, and show the costs in human life of the rush to riches-while Juul's founders, board members, and employees walked away with a windfall.
Smoking Concerns Sourcebook by
Call Number: Polk\Lakeland Circulation RA1242.T6 S589 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-29
Provides consumer health information about nicotine addiction and smoking cessation, along with facts about the health effects of smoking or using smokeless tobacco, statistics about tobacco use, reports on current research initiatives, and information about public health policies regarding tobacco control and use prevention. Includes index, glossary, and other resources.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven and Lakeland HV5748 .V37 2019
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
Though first introduced in 2003, vaping's popularity has rapidly increased in recent years. Vaping involves the inhalation of aerosols and is generally considered safer than smoking tobacco, but little is currently known about its health impacts. Additionally, although evidence suggests that vaping can help curb tobacco smoking, there is also concern that it increases addiction among non-smokers, especially children and teenagers. This concern is exacerbated by marketing strategies for electronic cigarettes, which often seem targeted toward young people. The perspectives in this resource explore the facts that are currently available on vaping along with its relationship to addictive substances.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale: eBooks This link opens in a new windowVirtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.