Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating Links to Library Resources: Home

How to find permalinks for library databases, articles, and ebooks

Copying and pasting links directly from the address bar in the library's online resources can often lead to dead pages. Often these links are temporary and won't link back to the original source. The workaround for this is to create a persistent link, also known as a permalink. Once you have a permalink, you can add it to your Canvas course or any other place you use a URL.

Linking to a specific article from within a database

If you would like to place a journal, magazine, or newspaper article link in Canvas, use the persistent link option in the database where you found the article. 

Each database may have a different way of providing the permalink. In most instances, it will be listed under the "Tools" or "Share" option. 


permalink

permalink ebsco


Sometimes you can find a permalink by using the citation generator that is located within the database. 


Linking to a specific database

If you would like to link to a specific database, use the share option on our Databases A-Z page. 

 

 

 

Linking to a specific book or ebook

To link to a specific ebook, use the permalink provided by the catalog. 

Step 1: Use the library catalog to find your specific title.

Step 2: Click on the link under "Full text availability"  to view the ebook

Step 3: When viewing the ebook, click Share Link to Book

share link to book

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.