Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for smoking research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Smoking health effects, psychological aspects and cessation by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Presents research in the study of the health effects, psychological aspects and cessation techniques of smoking. This book discusses such topics as: the vascular morphological changes related to smoking; how weather might affect smoking related health behaviours; and, adolescent smoking and health research.
WHO Report on the Global Tobacco Epidemic 2013 by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This report WHO's fourth in the series provides a country-level examination ofthe global tobacco epidemic and identifies countries that have applied selected measures for reducing tobacco use.
The Price of Smoking by
Publication Date: 2006-08-11
What does a pack of cigarettes cost a smoker, the smoker's family, and society? This longitudinal study on the private and social costs of smoking calculates that the cost of smoking to a 24-year-old woman smoker is $86,000 over a lifetime; for a 24-year-old male smoker the cost is $183,000. The total social cost of smoking over a lifetime--including both private costs to the smoker and costs imposed on others (including second-hand smoke and costs of Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security)--comes to $106,000 for a woman and $220,000 for a man. The cost per pack over a lifetime of smoking: almost $40.00. The first study to quantify the cost of smoking in this way, or in such depth, this accessible book not only adds a weapon to the arsenal of antismoking messages but also provides a framework for assessment that can be applied to other health behaviors.
Tobacco and Smoking by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV5760 .T623 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Tobacco use is a serious problem / US Department of Health and Human Services -- Tobacco sales are declining / Federal Trade Commission -- Teen smoking is a serious problem / American Cancer Society -- Teen smoking is declining / L.D. Johnston [and others] -- Secondhand smoke is dangerous / Frances Robert Lato -- The dangers of secondhand smoke are exaggerated / Edmund Contoski -- Increasing tobacco taxes would reduce tobacco use / Campaign for tobacco-free kids -- Increasing tobacco taxes would have unintended consequences / Diana Oprinescu -- Protect people from tobacco smoke / World Health Organization -- Smoking bans are misleading / Ronald Bayer, as told to Sarah Clune -- Raise the smoking age to 21 / John Kruzel -- Raising the smoking age to 21 is pointless / Eric Levenson -- Time for e-cigarette regulation / Lancet Oncology -- Smoking kills, and so might e-cigarette regulation / Gilbert Ross -- It is too early to federally regulate e-cigarettes / Thomas A. Hemphill -- It is too early to determine e-cigarettes as a safe alternative to smoking / Christopher Wanjek -- Smokeless tobacco is a safer alternative to smoking / Carl V. Phillips -- Smokeless tobacco should be included in smoking bans / Centers for Disease Control and Prevention -- Tobacco marketing influences youth smoking / Center for Public Health and Tobacco Policy -- Tobacco marketing does not influence youth smoking / Patrick Basham -- Smoking in movies influences youth smoking / Smoke Free Movies -- Smoking in movies should not be censored / Ruby Hamad -- Tobacco companies do not promote smoking in movies / Philip Morris USA -- Plain packets will remove the appeal of smoking for young women / University of Western Sydney -- Plain tobacco packaging would have unintended consequences / Michel Kelly-Gagnon and Youri Chassin.
Lighting Up by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV5760 .N53 2015 )
Publication Date: 2015-02-13
While the past 40 years have seen significant declines in adult smoking, this is not the case among young adults, who have the highest prevalence of smoking of all other age groups. At a time when just about everyone knows that smoking is bad for you, why do so many college students smoke? Drawing on interviews and focus groups with hundreds of young adults, Lighting Up takes the reader into their everyday lives to explore social smoking. Mimi Nichter argues that we must understand more about the meaning of social and low level smoking to youth, the social contexts that cause them to take up (or not take up) the habit, and the way that smoking plays a large role in students’ social lives. Nichter examines how smoking facilitates social interaction, helps young people express and explore their identity, and serves as a means for communicating emotional states. Lighting Up considers how smoking fits into the lives of young adults and how uncertain times may lead to uncertain smoking trajectories that reach into adulthood.
The Dangers of E-Cigarettes by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV5740 .P375 2017)
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Health officials have become alarmed at the exploding popularity of e-cigarettes because so much remains unknown about them. The Dangers of E-Cigarettes discusses the scope of the problem, effects of vaping, addiction potential, risks for youth vapers, and regulation issues.
Thinking Critically: E-cigarettes and vaping by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV5745 .W54 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Does the popularity of e-cigarettes mark the end of smoking tobacco, or are they addicting a new generation to nicotine and exposing them to dangerous chemicals? Through a narrative-driven pro/con format--supported by relevant facts, quotes, anecdotes, and full-color illustrations--this title examines issues related to e-cigarettes and vaping. Topics include: Are e-cigarettes and vaping a health hazard? Does the e-cigarette industry target minors? Are e-cigarettes and vaping a gateway to tobacco products? How should e-cigarettes and vaping be regulated?
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.