Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for smoking research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Cigarette by
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Finalist for the Hagley Prize in Business History A Smithsonian Book of the Year "Vaping gets all the attention now, but Milov's thorough study reminds us that smoking has always intersected with the government, for better or worse."--New York Times Book Review Tobacco is the quintessential American product. From Jamestown to the Marlboro Man, the plant occupied the heart of the nation's economy and expressed its enduring myths. But today smoking rates have declined and smokers are exiled from many public spaces. The story of tobacco's fortunes may seem straightforward: science triumphed over our addictive habits and the cynical machinations of tobacco executives. Yet the reality is more complicated. Both the cigarette's popularity and its eventual decline reflect a parallel course of shifting political priorities. The tobacco industry flourished with the help of the state, but it was the concerted efforts of citizen nonsmokers who organized to fight for their right to clean air that led to its undoing. After the Great Depression, public officials and organized tobacco farmers worked together to ensure that the government's regulatory muscle was more often deployed to promote tobacco than to protect the public from its harms. Even as evidence of the cigarette's connection to cancer grew, medical experts could not convince officials to change their stance. What turned the tide, Sarah Milov argues, was a new kind of politics: a movement for nonsmokers' rights. Activists and public-interest lawyers took to the courts, the streets, city councils, and boardrooms to argue for smoke-free workplaces and allied with scientists to lobby elected officials. The Cigarette restores politics to its rightful place in the tale of tobacco's rise and fall, illustrating America's continuing battles over corporate influence, individual responsibility, collective choice, and the scope of governmental power.
The Vaping Controversy by
Publication Date: 2019-09-03
This work provides an evenhanded and authoritative overview of vaping and its impact on American culture and public health, especially among younger Americans. The 21st Century Turning Points series is a one-stop resource for understanding the people and events changing America today. This volume is devoted to the rapid rise of vaping across the nation, especially among young people. This trend has prompted fierce debate in communities across the country, with some people heralding "e-cigarettes" and other vaping devices as valuable smoking cessation tools and others condemning them for being unhealthy in their own right--and a gateway to future cigarette consumption. The Vaping Controversy describes the key events and people that provided the foundation for the rise of e-cigarettes and vaping, from governmental and medical efforts to reduce traditional cigarette smoking to the emergence and rapid spread of an entire industry devoted to selling vaping devices and accessories. This volume also explores how vaping has influenced youth culture and high school life, its impact on "old school" tobacco companies, and the increasingly visible partisan divide in attitudes about the public health impact of vaping. Devotes individual entries to specific events and milestones Profiles important activists and other notable figures Explores the lasting impact of the event on American life in essays Includes a bibliography of sources for further study
Teens and Vaping by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
The number of young people who practice vaping--the use of e-cigarettes--continues to grow in the United States. Experts are divided about whether vaping is a desirable alternative to smoking cigarettes or is itself a serious health concern. Teens and Vaping takes a critical look at this phenomenon and its impact on public health.
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Tobacco use is the world's leading preventable cause of death. This title explores the history of tobacco, its effects on the body, government policies toward it, and ways that users can quit. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Smoking Concerns Sourcebook by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation (RA1242.T6 S589 2019)
Publication Date: 2019-03-29
Provides consumer health information about nicotine addiction and smoking cessation, along with facts about the health effects of smoking or using smokeless tobacco, statistics about tobacco use, reports on current research initiatives, and information about public health policies regarding tobacco control and use prevention. Includes index, glossary, and other resources.
Public Health Consequences of E-Cigarettes by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation (RC567 .P83 2018)
Publication Date: 2018-06-18
Millions of Americans use e-cigarettes. Despite their popularity, little is known about their health effects. Some suggest that e-cigarettes likely confer lower risk compared to combustible tobacco cigarettes, because they do not expose users to toxicants produced through combustion. Proponents of e-cigarette use also tout the potential benefits of e-cigarettes as devices that could help combustible tobacco cigarette smokers to quit and thereby reduce tobacco-related health risks. Others are concerned about the exposure to potentially toxic substances contained in e-cigarette emissions, especially in individuals who have never used tobacco products such as youth and young adults. Given their relatively recent introduction, there has been little time for a scientific body of evidence to develop on the health effects of e-cigarettes. Public Health Consequences of E-Cigarettes reviews and critically assesses the state of the emerging evidence about e-cigarettes and health. This report makes recommendations for the improvement of this research and highlights gaps that are a priority for future research.
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HV5748 .V37 2019)
Publication Date: 2019-07-15
Though first introduced in 2003, vaping's popularity has rapidly increased in recent years. Vaping involves the inhalation of aerosols and is generally considered safer than smoking tobacco, but little is currently known about its health impacts. Additionally, although evidence suggests that vaping can help curb tobacco smoking, there is also concern that it increases addiction among non-smokers, especially children and teenagers. This concern is exacerbated by marketing strategies for electronic cigarettes, which often seem targeted toward young people. The perspectives in this resource explore the facts that are currently available on vaping along with its relationship to addictive substances.
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HV4999.2 .M49 2018)
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
The Information Plus Reference Series provides statistical data on 32 of todays most controversial and most studied social issues. Each Information Plus title is a compilation of current and historical statistics -- with analysis -- on aspects of one contemporary social issue, such as abortion, capital punishment, and genetic engineering. Each title is divided into chapters that are devoted to a particular topic. The text provides a clear and comprehensive summary of up-to-date research on the topic and is interspersed with the statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Each table is directly referred to and carefully explained in the text. Designed as ready-reference tools, Information Plus titles save researchers and students from the cumbersome task of locating statistics from various sources. Information Plus data are compiled from reports generated by branches of the U.S. government, information collected by major independent polling organizations and authoritative associations, and from professional journals, newspapers, pamphlets, and other reliable sources. With the text presented in an even-handed and unbiased manner, Information Plus is an excellent resource for researchers who want to understand social issues and controversies and draw their own conclusions about them. Each thoroughly indexed volume provides complete source citations for the statis
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.