Home - LIT 1000 - Introduction to Literature, Prof. Larson

Welcome!

This research guide will explain how to find and cite library materials appropriate for your literature assignments for Dr. Larson.

Database and Catalog Search

Contacting Your Instructor

Professor: Dr. Kara Larson

KLarson@polk.edu

AskALibrarian

Librarian: Shannon Schane

Contact Options:

email: sschane@polk.edu

Office: 863-298-6813

Recommended Databases

The databases below can help you critique poems, short stories, and plays. They may include plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, full text of literary journals, book reviews, classic & contemporary poems, classic & contemporary short stories, full text of classic novels, author interviews, and images of key literary figures.

Hover over the "i" to learn more about a particular database.

JSTOR Includes more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures. Combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Gale Literature (Gale) Formerly "Artemis Literary Sources". Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Lit Finder (Gale) Includes access to three databases: Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay/Speech/Play Finder. LitFinder brings together the largest, most comprehensive and most current international poetry and story database available. Includes thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. Included speeches represent the finest examples of recorded oratory. Over 1,000 complete plays cover the range of dramatic expression from many countries, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, childrens, religious, romantic, historical, childrens and comedic plays.
Salem Literature (Salem Press) Contains the full text of printed reference sets purchased by the library. Includes selections from Magill's Literary Annuals, and the Critical Insights and Critical Surveys series.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.

Recommended for biographical information:

Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) Contains contextual information on the world's most influential people. Merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Bloom's Literature (Infobase Publishing) Rich with relevant content on core authors and works most studied.
Gale E-Books (Gale) Offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection.

Bloom's Literature

Bloom’s Literature provides overviews, synopses, analyses, and literary criticism of thousands of works.

Gale Literature

Gale: Literature integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

Accessing the Polk State College Library Databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (https://www.polk.edu/library-tlcc-tutoring/).

From there, select the link for Articles/Databases.

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically. You can also view the databases arranged by subject area by selecting the "Subjects" dropdown near the top.

After selecting a specific database, you will be prompted to sign in.

Students: Use your Passport information - Student ID number and Password (default: two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Staff/Faculty: Use your Polk email address and password

If you are having difficulty signing in with your Passport credentials, try clearing the cookies/cache in your browser OR try using a different browser (Chrome, Edge, Safari, Firefox, etc...). This will fix the problem about 90% of the time.

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names. Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in Gale, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the Gale databases Click Here!