Searching the library catalog for only books can be tricky.
1. To access the library catalog, go the Polk State College homepage and select the link Library/TLCC at the top of the page.
2. Under Library, select the link for Books/Catalog.
3. Enter keywords (search terms) into the search box, then select the green magnifying glass.
4. Use filtering options to refine results.
To limit to ONLY ebooks with full text, select "Available Online" AND "Books"
Electronic books may be accessed anywhere at anytime from almost any electronic device. The majority of our ebooks will also include searching features as well as citation generators.
To limit to only print books at Polk State College, select "Held by Library" AND "Books"
Successful book search:
You know your filters for physical print books were applied when you see "Held by library" AND "Books" listed under Active Filters.
Select the title of a specific book to view additional information or request a book to be held for you. When requesting a book to be transferred to another campus, remember this will take a few days. If you need a print book the same day, make sure it is already at the location where you will be picking it up.
Note: To place a hold or transfer request, you will need to sign into the library using your Student ID AND password you use for Passport (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).
Library books may be returned to any Polk State library location.
Successful ebook search:
You know your filters for ebooks were applied when you see "Available online" AND "Books" listed under Active Filters.
Viewing ebooks
View ebook abstracts by selecting the book's title (link) and looking under "Details".
Note: Occasionally you may be required to verify your login information while viewing the ebooks.
If you are having difficulty locating the books you need - please don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help!
Timetables of World Literature by
Chronicles world literature from the Classical Age through the twentieth century, discussing literary developments and the relationship between literature and the political and social climate of each historical period.
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by
Explores more than 1,000 literary terms and themes. This dictionary gives readers the knowledge of related theoretical, historical, and cultural terms they need in the interdisciplinary world of contemporary literary studies. It includes essays on major themes in literature such as evil, power, love, death, time, and more.
Drama for Students by
Features analysis of the plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Entries include: introduction providing overview of play; brief biography of playwright; plot summary; discussion of play's principal themes; essays on play's construction; and excerpted critical commentary. Note: Includes Antigone
Drama for Students by
Features analysis of the plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Entries include: introduction providing overview of play; brief biography of playwright; plot summary; discussion of play's principal themes; essays on play's construction; and excerpted critical commentary. Note: This volume includes Antigone
Female Acts in Greek Tragedy by
Although Classical Athenian ideology did not permit women to exercise legal, economic, and social autonomy, the tragedies of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides often represent them as influential social and moral forces in their own right. Scholars have struggled to explain this seeming contradiction. Helene Foley shows how Greek tragedy uses gender relations to explore specific issues in the development of the social, political, and intellectual life in the polis. She investigates three central and problematic areas in which tragic heroines act independently of men: death ritual and lamentation, marriage, and the making of significant ethical choices. Her anthropological approach, together with her literary analysis, allows for an unusually rich context in which to understand gender relations in ancient Greece. This book examines, for example, the tragic response to legislation regulating family life that may have begun as early as the sixth century. It also draws upon contemporary studies of virtue ethics and upon feminist reconsiderations of the Western ethical tradition. Foley maintains that by viewing public issues through the lens of the family, tragedy asks whether public and private morality can operate on the same terms. Moreover, the plays use women to represent significant moral alternatives. Tragedy thus exploits, reinforces, and questions cultural clichés about women and gender in a fashion that resonates with contemporary Athenian social and political issues.
Othello: a Critical Reader by
Othello deals with such pressing modern issues as race, gender, multiculturalism, and the ways love, jealousy, and misunderstanding can affect relations between romantic partners. This guide offers students and scholars an introduction to the play's critical and performance history, including notable stage productions and film versions. It includes a keynote chapter outlining major areas of current research on the play and four new critical essays.
Othello and Interpretive Traditions by
During the past twenty years or so, "Othello" has become the Shakespearean tragedy that speaks most powerfully to our contemporary concerns. Focusing on race and gender (and on class, ethnicity, sexuality, and nationality), the play talks about what audiences want to talk about. Yet at the same time, as refracted through Iago, it forces us to hear what we do not want to hear; like the characters in the play, we become trapped in our own prejudicial malice and guilt.
Susan Glaspell by
Trifles—a play exploring what happens when women unite against forces that deny them a voice and identity—has become an international classic, as powerful and relevant today as it was in the summer of 1916. This biography is the story of its author, Susan Glaspell, and the forces that propelled her from her Midwest birthplace to Greenwich Village during its glory days, where she established herself as a central figure in the avant-garde community and became the first modern American woman playwright.
Drama for Students by
Features analysis of the plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Entries include: introduction providing overview of play; brief biography of playwright; plot summary; discussion of play's principal themes; essays on play's construction; and excerpted critical commentary. Note: This volume includes Trifles
Antigone Rising by
A witty, inspiring reckoning with the ancient Greek and Roman myths and their legacy, from what they can illuminate about #MeToo to the radical imagery of Beyoncé. The picture of classical antiquity most of us learned in school is framed in certain ways -- glossing over misogyny while omitting the seeds of feminist resistance. Many of today's harmful practices, like school dress codes, exploitation of the environment, and rape culture, have their roots in the ancient world. But in Antigone Rising, classicist Helen Morales reminds us that the myths have subversive power because they are told -- and read -- in different ways. Through these stories, whether it's Antigone's courageous stand against tyranny or the indestructible Caeneus, who inspires trans and gender queer people today, Morales uncovers hidden truths about solidarity, empowerment, and catharsis. Antigone Rising offers a fresh understanding of the stories we take for granted, showing how we can reclaim them to challenge the status quo, spark resistance, and rail against unjust regimes.
Character and Conflict by
Criticism and plays. Character in drama. Hedda Gabler / Henrik Ibsen
Character in expressionistic drama. Everyman / Anonymous
The world of the play. Mother Courage and her children / Bertolt Brecht
The world in expressionistic drama. The skin of our teeth / Thornton Wilder
Plot. Antigone / Sophocles
Plot on the psychological level. Stronger / August Strindberg
The nature of drama. Hamlet / William Shakespeare
Plays for further reading. The cherry orchard / Anton Chekhov
Riders to the sea / John Millington Synge
The Misanthrope / Molière
Tiger at the gates / Jean Giraudoux
Picnic on the battlefield / Fernando Arrabal.
Race in William Shakespeare's Othello by
When decorated Moorish general Othello appoints Cassio as his chief lieutenant, Iago gets jealous and plots revenge, alleging that Othello's wife, a much younger white woman, is having an affair with Cassio. In many ways, Shakespeare's Othello remains a potent expression of race and racism three-hundred years after its publication. This volume offers compelling interpretations of the actions and the characters that have made this play so controversial. Essays discuss the question of Othello's color, the contradictory notions of black and white in the play, sexuality and racial difference, and whether Desdemona's marriage to Othello incites racism. Contributors include Ania Loomba, Peter Ackroyd, and Doris Adler.
Barron's Book Notes - William Shakespeare's Othello by
A guide to reading "Othello" with a critical and appreciative mind encouraging analysis of plot, style, form, and structure. Also includes background on the author's life and times, sample tests, term paper suggestions, and a reading list.
Susan Glaspell's Century of American Women by
Tracing the evolution of Susan Glaspell's writing, Veronica Makowsky provides fascinating glimpses of the life of a woman who broke the barriers against female journalists, advocated socialism, struggled with the precepts of Greenwich Village free love, was one of the founders of the Provincetown Players, participated in the sessions of the feminist Heterodoxy Club, placed women's concerns on the stage as a playwright and actress, and wrote about a turbulent century of American women with courage, optimism, sensitivity, and love. This is the first full-length book about Glaspell's works, including the fiction and lifewriting that bracketed her relatively brief career as the playwright best-known for the one-act drama Trifles. Also the author of many other plays, including the Pulitzer prize-winning Alison's House, a number of collected and uncollected short stories, nine novels, and a biography of her husband the iconoclastic George Cram Cook, Glaspell was an artist of formidable, but ill-acknowledged talent. Makowsky places Glaspell's work in its biographical and cultural context, with particular attention to Glaspell's depiction of women's roles over a century of American history. In addition, she examines closely Glaspell's use of the maternal metaphor and her depiction of women in the role of mothers. This absorbing and revelatory study rescues one of America's literary "foremothers" from relative obscurity, challenging canonical ideas about the circumstances that lead to literary "greatness."
Critical Essays on Susan Glaspell by
"The career of Susan Glaspell (1876-1948) follows closely the trajectory of other "reclaimed" American women writers of the century such as Kate Chopin, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and Zora Neale Hurston: well known in her time, effaced from canonical consideration after her death, rediscovered years later through the surfacing of one work around which critical attention has focused. Glaspell, a contemporary of Eugene O'Neill, was a respected international playwright and novelist who amassed some of the most impressive credentials in American theater history, including the Pulitzer Prize in 1931. Over the past fifteen years, she has been rediscovered through the work of leading feminist scholars, and her one-act play Trifles and its short story form, "A Jury of Her Peers," have become classics." "Susan Glaspell: Essays on Her Theater and Fiction is the first collection devoted to the body of Glaspell's work. The book provides an array of perspectives on the writer and her art and features the first complete Glaspell bibliography, including references to original reviews of Glaspell's plays and fiction and recent critical studies of her writing."
NOTE: Books are once again available for checkout!
Select print books from the library's catalog and return them at one of our Lakeland or Winter Haven campus book drops.
Additional information on our NEW curbside pickup and books by mail option is available here: http://bit.ly/CurbsideBooks
BOOK CHECKOUT:
Requires Student ID at Circulation Desk. Check-out periods are 3 weeks long & can be renewed online in your library account.
LOGGING INTO YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT
*Students: Use your Passport information - Student ID number and Password (default: two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).
Your Library Account allows you to use access Polk State Libraries' databases, renew book loans, and request books from Florida's 28 state colleges and 12 state universities.
Note: Faculty and staff members use their Polk email address and password.
Forbes Book of Quotations by 
1,001 Pearls of Teachers' Wisdom by 
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations by 
The Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations by To log into the library databases, use your Passport credentials.
Over 12,600 quotations. This collection is the ideal place to answer all your quotation questions. You can discover which of over 3,000 authors said that tantalizing phrase or you can search over 600 subjects to find an apt quotation for any occasion.
Writer's Reference Center (library database)
The 120,000 most authoritative quotations on the web, with 50,000 other short selections.
