LibGuides: BAS Degrees: Library Resources: Business

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Business Databases

The following links will take you directly to the library databases. Hover over the info icon for more information on a particular database.

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
Business (Gale) This link opens in a new window Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users can learn about the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications that are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S. and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform. Business Collection is a comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete provides full text for periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, fashion and much more.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Sage Journals (Sage) This link opens in a new window SAGE is the worlds 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Useful Web Links for Business Research

American Association for Public Opinion Research AAPOR
Founded in 1947, the American Association for Public Opinion Research is the leading association of public opinion and survey research professionals.
Edgar Database - Securities and Exchange Commission
All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) was created in 1953 as an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation. We recognize that small business is critical to our economic recovery and strength, to building America's future, and to helping the United States compete in today's global marketplace. Although SBA has grown and evolved in the years since it was established in 1953, the bottom line mission remains the same. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses. Through an extensive network of field offices and partnerships with public and private organizations, SBA delivers its services to people throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, the U. S. Virgin Islands and Guam.
U. S. Department of Commerce
The Commerce Department's mission is to help make American businesses more innovative at home and more competitive abroad.

Ask a Librarian

Business Journals

The links below will take you directly to back issues of the journals:

Harvard Business Review
Written for upper level management. Presents analysis of management problems and helpful commentary on advanced thinking and practice in all fields of management and administration.
Journal of Organizational Behavior Management
Articles, review articles and commentary on application of behavior management in business, government and service organizations to advance applied behavior analysis in work settings. Implementation; Feedback effects; Self-management procedures.
Journal of Management
JOM covers domains such as business strategy and policy, entrepreneurship, human resource management, organizational behavior, organizational theory, and research methods.
Business Ethics Quarterly
Presents articles and reviews about the application of ethics to the business community, particularly global business and economic concerns.