LibGuides: BAS Degrees: Library Resources: Health Admin

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Healthcare Administration Databases

The following links will take you directly to the library databases. Hover over the info icon for more information on a particular database.

Business (Gale) This link opens in a new window Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users can learn about the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications that are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S. and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform. Business Collection is a comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Complete provides full text for periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, fashion and much more.
Sage Journals (Sage) This link opens in a new window SAGE is the worlds 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage dating back to 1965.

Useful Web Links

American College of Healthcare Executives
The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of more than 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations.
Health Systems Evidence
The world's most comprehensive, free access point for evidence to support policy makers, stakeholders and researchers interested in how to strengthen or reform health systems or in how to get cost-effective programs, services and drugs to those who need them.
Healthcare Financial Management Association
Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society
HIMSS is a cause-based, not-for-profit organization exclusively focused on providing global leadership for the optimal use of information technology (IT) and management systems for the betterment of healthcare.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Ask a Librarian

Healthcare Administration Journals

The links below will take you directly to back issues of the journals:

Home Health Care Management & Practice
Articles address a broad variety of issues, from individual patient care and case management to the management of home care clinicians and the administration of home care agencies. Specific topics include therapeutic approaches, cultural competence, family caregivers, equipment assessment and management, human resource management, home health center/agency finances and promotion, government regulations affecting home care - and much more.
Journal of Health & Human Services Administration
Dedicated to publishing articles in all areas of health, hospital & welfare administration & management.
Health Care Management Science
Promotes systems thinking & provides a single forum for researchers & practitioners of health care services & management to exchange ideas & elucidate important developments.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar: Adding Full Text @ Polk

Google Scholar: Adding Full Text @ Polk
This file is a printable Word document of the steps below.

When searching Google Scholar, it is possible to link to Polk State Libraries to be able to access resources available through the library. This guide will go over how to set this up. Once set up, Full Text @ Polk can be accessed on or off campus.

Start here: https://scholar.google.com/

Click on the three links (the hamburger symbol) in the upper leftàClick on Settings

Click on Library Linksàtype in Polk StateàClick searchàSelect Polk State College—Full Text @ PolkàClick Save

Now, go back to https://scholar.google.com/ and search

Note the difference when it is not used and when using Full Text @ Polk . . .

Without using Full Text @ Polk only a couple articles from this search are accessible:

With using Full Text @ Polk now all four of these articles are accessible

Questions? Use Ask a Librarian for assistance.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.