Using the Databases - ENC 0027 - Developmental Reading and Writing II

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.

Academic OneFile is an excellent starting database for a wide variety of topics. Databases contain different articles and other sources, so it is a good idea to search in more than one using the following steps:

Read assignment guidelines
Choose a library database
Select search limits/limiters
Type in search terms
Search!

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete is another general database and an excellent starting point.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window

Opposing Viewpoints has a 'Browse Issues' feature which will show you today's hottest topics. Includes full-text viewpoint articles, statistics, and articles from academic journals, newspapers, and other reference sources.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

CQ Researcher also has a 'Browse Topics' function. You can also view the most popular subjects in the 'Hot Topics' column on the right side of the page. This database provides award-winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted, and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, and pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

America's News is a comprehensive database for finding current and past newspaper articles. The videos below go over how to conduct a basic search, how to conduct an advanced search, and how to use suggested topics.

Ask a Librarian

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.

If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

ENC 0027 - Developmental Reading and Writing II: Using the Databases

Recommended Databases

Ask a Librarian

Login Required