Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM2020 - Introduction to Humanities-Myth of Osiris: Databases

Professor Morgan's Myth of Osiris assignment

PSC Database Access

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top center of the page & click Library/TLCC.

3) In the center of the page, Articles/Databases.

4) Set top menu to Polk State College

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

Mythology-Related Databases

NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition

eBook Collection (EBSCO): 80,000 electronic books (and counting). Type in "Osiris" for a search. From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous and Next buttons on the top right-hand corner will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index) or Search this eContent, which is located at the bottom left-hand corner.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

‚ÄčEncyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica; citations in MLA & APA formats appear at the bottom of each encyclopedia entry. After typing in "Osiris" as your search, the encyclopedia entries providing the best information are "Osiris," "Egypt from the article hell (religions)," and "Varieties of salvation in world religions."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.  

Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online. Change the first search menu to Subject, then type in "Osiris."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

World History in Context (Gale): Complete entries from reference books, full-text periodicals, & primary sources. On the top right-hand corner, choose World, then type in "Osiris myth" and look at Reference in the middle of the results list.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.