Additional terms related to English as a Second Language:
ESL (English as a Second Language)
EFL (English as a Foreign Language)
ELL (English Language Learners)
TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)
TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language)
TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language)
EAL (English as an Additional Language)
ELT (English Language Teaching)
ESP (English for Specific Purposes)
EAP (English for Academic Purposes)
ELD (English Language Development)
List mostly compiled by ChatGPT on June 12, 2024.
Speaking, Listening and Understanding: Debate for Non-native-English Speakers by 
Correct Your English Errors: Avoid 99% of the Common Mistakes Made by Learners of English (2nd ed.) by
The bestselling ESL guide--now with extra review exercises to reinforce lessons learned Do you tend to repeat the same mistakes when you speak or write in English? This fun and engaging guide will help you communicate like a native English speaker on a consistent basis. Correct Your English Errors, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to correcting the bad habits that can leave your audience confused. This skill-building book clearly explains all the key elements of English grammar and provides hundreds of examples of errors learners often make--all presented in color to make them stand out and easier to avoid. Correct Your English Errors, Second Edition: * Highlights common ESL pitfalls, including mispronunciation, misspelling, verb tense issues, and subject-verb agreement * Helps you avoid the misapplication of your own native grammar rules to English * Includes practical review exercises at the end of each chapter * Includes a new review chapter designed to test your mastery of the book's entire content
Easy English Grammar Step-By-Step, Second Edition by
This step-by-step approach helps you learn the rules of grammar quickly and easily!
English for Everyone: English Grammar Guide by
Puzzled by past tenses? Confused be comparatives? The English for Everyone Grammar Guide is packed with easy-to-follow English grammar rules and annotated sample sentences. Ideal for English test preparations or ESL lesson plans, the Grammar Guide uses visual teaching methods to introduce English grammar for beginners, reinforced through a variety of exercises and examples when used alongside our Grammar Practice Book. Once you have built up your confidence in the written English language, the Grammar Guide can act as a reference point for more advanced sentence structures in practical English usage. About English For Everyone English for Everyone is a series of guides and practice books that support English learning for teenagers and adults from a beginner level, to intermediate, and advanced practical English. Offering an easy-to-follow format that offers guidance for both teaching English as a foreign language, and a self-study approach with resources available to improve English speaking, reading, and writing. Whether you are looking for ESL teaching resources, or a structured program for adults to learn English as a second language, the English for Everyone Series provides: - Sample language examples: New language topics are introduced in context using clear, illustrated, and color-coded explanations - Supporting audio: Extensive English-speaking audio materials integrated into every unit, giving vital oral and listening practice. (All supplementary audio is available on the DK English for Everyone website and IOS/Android App). - Quick referencing: Easy-to-follow units, mirrored in both the Course and Practice Books for easy referencing and teaching - Sentence formation guides: Visual break downs of essential English grammar in use, showing learners how to recreate even complex English sentences - Visual English vocabulary cues: Lists of useful English words and common phrases with visual aids are available throughout the book - Personalised learning: Write-on lines encourage ESL learners to write their prompts and translations The English for Everyone Series covers the skills and topics required for all major global English-language exams and reference frameworks including: - CEFR - TOEFL - IELTS - TOEIC
Grammar 101: From Split Infinitives to Dangling Participles, an Essential Guide to Understanding Grammar by 
Improve Your Grammar: The Essential Guide to Accurate Writing by
Packed with clear guidance on the nuts and bolts of grammar and plenty of examples, this text will help students master the fundamentals of English grammar and tackle written assignments with confidence. 60+ bite-sized units help students overcome common areas of difficulty, such as forming different tenses, using connectives to link ideas and build an argument, punctuating sentences and choosing the right words. Each unit is presented on a double-page spread, making it easy for students to flick through the book and quickly find the unit they need. Short, focused exercises at the end of each unit - with answers provided at the back of the book - make this text ideal for both self-study and classroom use. This 3rd edition contains four new units on hedging, being critical and collocation.Improve Your Grammar is an essential resource for students of all disciplines and levels wanting to excel at writing, and can be used as a self-study workbook or on tutor-led grammar modules.
May I Quote You on That? A Guide to Grammar and Usage by
We all use language in different ways, depending on the situations we find ourselves in. In formal contexts we are usually expected to use a formal level of Standard English - the English codified in grammars, usage guides, and dictionaries. In May I Quote You on That? Stephen Spector offers a new approach to learning Standard English grammar and usage. The product of Spector's forty years of teaching courses on the English language, this book makes the conventions of formal writing and speech easier and more enjoyable to learn than traditional approaches usually do. Each lesson begins with humorous, interesting, or instructive illustrative quotations from writers, celebrities, and historical figures. Mark Twain appears alongside Winston Churchill, Yogi Berra, Woody Allen, Jerry Seinfeld, Stephen Colbert, Oprah, Lady Gaga, and many others. These quotations allow readers to infer the rules and word meanings from context. And if they stick in readers' memory, they can serve as models for the rules they exemplify. The lessons then offer short essays, written in a conversational style, on the history of the rules or the words being discussed. But because English is constantly changing, the essays offer not only the traditional rules of Standard English, but also the current opinions of usage panelists, stylists, and language specialists. When rules are controversial, Spector offers advice about stylistic choices. A companion website features a workbook with practice drills. This book will appeal to anyone who wants to write well. It's aimed at those who are applying to college, taking the SAT, or writing a job application, an essay, or anything else that requires clear and effective communication.
Painless Grammar by
Always study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for Painless Grammar, ISBN 9781506268101, on sale October 06, 2020. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from third-party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitles included with the product.
Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners, Premium Fourth Edition by
This bestselling workbook for beginning ESL (English as a Second Language) learners helps you master English grammar--now with a streaming audio answer key via the McGraw Hill Language Lab app. Understanding the rules of grammar is the first step in learning a language, and extensive practice will help you gain mastery. In Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners, Premium Fourth Edition, you'll get the best of both worlds, with crystal-clear explanations, realistic examples, and dozens of exercises in an engaging variety of formats. From present tense regular verbs to double object pronouns, this comprehensive guide covers all aspects of English grammar, focusing on the practical aspects of English as it is really spoken. You'll especially appreciate the clarity of presentation, with time-saving vocabulary panels that eliminate having to look words up, advice on how to avoid common errors, and a detailed answer key that allows for quick, easy progress checks. With three review chapters to assess retention of key concepts and 80 quizzes available via the McGraw Hill Language Lab app, Practice Makes Perfect: English Grammar for ESL Learners, Premium Fourth Edition, gives you the skills you need to speak, understand and write English with confidence. Features: NEW: Streaming audio recordings to help with comprehension and pronunciation, available through the McGraw Hill Language Lab app Accessible style and format: Simple grammar reviews with clear examples are followed by an engaging variety of exercises--including multiple choice, fill-in sentences, and more Three review chapters test overall comprehension with 25 exercises (250 questions) Supported by 80 interactive quizzes via the McGraw Hill Language Lab app to help you further assess what you've learned Ideal for in-class or independent study
English Grammar Demystified: A Self Teaching Guide by
Decode the mystery of English grammar to add polish to your papers, emails, business letters, and more English Grammar Demystified teaches the fundamentals of the subject in an easy, step-by-step approach thatallows you to learn at your own pace. With help from this book, you will understand the parts of speech, learn to use punctuation correctly, master verb tenses, spot and avoid common grammatical errors, and improve your overall sentence structures. Throughout the book you can monitor your progress throughself-tests, and a comprehensive final exam at the end ofthe book gives you instant feedback on new language skills.
Writing the Research Paper: Multicultural Perspectives for Writing in English as a Second Language by
Covering both theoretical and practical approaches, Writing the Research Paper guides students studying in English as a second or additional language through the skills necessary for success in university-level writing and research. The book begins with theoretical considerations, such as research, argumentation and critical thinking. It then offers a broad range of practical assistance covering all aspects of the writing process, including topic selection, argument, counter-argument, paragraph structure and cohesion. The book is accompanied by a companion website, writingtheresearchpaper.com. The website hosts many features, including chapter summaries, exercises, quizzes, PowerPoints, additional learning material, and technology assistance. The website also hosts numerous authentic examples of student papers at each of the critical stages of the writing process.
Barron's Painless Writing by
Learn how to express your thoughts clearly, enliven your writing with vivid images, avoid the dull passive voice, and more. Titles in Barron's extensive Painless Series cover a wide range of subjects, as they are taught at middle school and high school levels. Perfect for supporting Common Core Standards, these books are written for students who find the subjects somewhat confusing, or just need a little extra help. Most of these books take a lighthearted, humorous approach to their subjects, and offer fun exercises including puzzles, games, and challenging "Brain Tickler" problems to solve. Bonus Online Component: includes additional games to challenge students, including Beat the Clock, a line match game, and a word scramble.
Writing American Style: An ESL/EFL Handbook by
This manual recognizes that preparing essays, research papers, and other academic written assignments is particularly difficult for even the best students if English is their second language. Ten chapters instruct high-intermediate-through-advanced ESL/EFL students in planning the paper, doing standard and computer-based research to compile information, drawing up a formal outline, documenting the paper, then drafting, revising and editing it so that it is ready for presentation. An appendix presents a sample essay, a sample bibliography, and a research paper that follow the most recent and approved MLA style of documentation. Two methods are shown, one giving MLA parenthetical citations, the other employing an endnote style. MLA guidelines that cover citations for electronic sources are also given.
Writing Clearly: A Self-Teaching Guide by
Improve your writing skills at your own pace How do you target a specific audience in writing? What makes up a strong thesis statement? Is there a trick to maintaining clear communication in cyberspace? How do you achieve unity and coherence in a final draft? With Writing Clearly: A Self-Teaching Guide, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more about the basics of communicating effectively through the written word.
Short Stories in English for Beginners: Read for Pleasure at Your Level and Learn English the Fun Way! by
An unmissable collection of eight unconventional and captivating short stories for young and adult learners. "I love Olly's work - and you will too!" - Barbara Oakley, PhD, Author of New York Times bestseller A Mind for Numbers Short Stories in English for Beginners has been written especially for students from beginner to intermediate level, designed to give a sense of achievement, and most importantly - enjoyment! Mapped to A2-B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference, these eight captivating stories will both entertain you, and give you a feeling of progress when listening. What does this book give you? · Eight stories in a variety of exciting genres, from science fiction and crime to history and thriller - making learning fun, while you gain a wide range of new vocabulary · Controlled language at your level, including the 1000 most frequent words, to help you progress confidently · Authentic spoken dialogues, to help you learn conversational expressions and improve your speaking ability · Pleasure! It's much easier to learn a new language when you're having fun, and research shows that if you're enjoying listening in a foreign language, you won't experience the usual feelings of frustration - 'It's too hard!' 'I don't understand!' · Accessible grammar so you learn new structures naturally, in a stress-free way Carefully curated to make learning a new language easy, these stories will entertain you, while at the same time allowing you to benefit from an improved range of vocabulary and a better grasp of the language, without ever feeling overwhelmed or frustrated. From science fiction to fantasy, to crime and thrillers, Short Stories in English for Beginners will make learning English easy and enjoyable.
