The Best American Essays 2023 by
In her introduction to this year's The Best American Essays, guest editor Vivian Gornick states that her selections "contribute materially to the long and honorable history of the personal essay by way of the value they place on lived experience." Provocative, daring, and honest at a time when many writers are deliberately silencing themselves in the face of authoritarian and populist censorship movements, the twenty-one essays collected here reflect their authors' unapologetic observations of the world around them. From an inmate struggling to find purpose during his prison sentence to a doctor coping with the unpredictable nature of her patient, to a widow wishing for just a little more time with her late husband, these narratives--and the others featured in this anthology--celebrate the endurance of the human spirit. The Best American Essays 2023 includes Ciara Alfaro * Jillian Barnet * Sylvie Baumgartel * Eric Borsuk * Chris Dennis * Xujun Eberlein * Sandra Hager Eliason * George Estreich * Merrill Joan Gerber * Debra Gwartney * Edward Hoagland * Laura Kipnis * Phillip Lopate * Celeste Marcus * Sam Meekings * Sigrid Nunez * Kathryn Schulz * Anthony Siegel * Scott Spencer * Angelique Stevens * David Treuer
English Grammar All-In-One for Dummies by
Learn to get your ideas across clearly and correctly--the easy way English Grammar All-in-One For Dummies is packed with everything you need to know to communicate with confidence--in your writing, on standardized tests, at work, on social media, and everywhere else. Strong verbal and written skills can help you get where you want to be, and this easy-to-understand Dummies guide will help you understand the English grammar principles you need to know so you can improve your understanding of basic grammar and punctuation rules, easily identify parts of speech, and communicate more effectively. Learn the basics of punctuation--periods, commas, semicolons, and beyond Write clearer e-mails and messages, or ace the writing section of your test Navigate pronouns and make sure you're using inclusive language Practice with end-of-chapter quizzes and even more online practice English Grammar All-In-One For Dummies is an excellent resource for students, professionals, job seekers, non-native-English learners, and anyone who wants to brush up on using this crazy language we call English.
Essays and Arguments: A Handbook for Writing Student Essays by
How does one help undergraduate students learn quickly how to produce effectively organized, persuasive, well-reasoned essays? This book offers a straightforward, systematic introduction to some of the key elements of the construction of arguments in essay form. The focus here is on practical advice that will prove immediately useful to students--recommended procedures are emphasized, and detailed examples of academic and student writing are provided throughout. The book introduces the basics of argumentation before moving on to the structure and organization of essays. Planning and outlining the essay, writing strong thesis statements, organizing coherent paragraphs, and writing effective introductions and conclusions are among the subjects discussed. A separate section concisely explores issues specific to essays about literary works.
The Facts on File Guide to Literary Research by
The Facts On File Guide to Literary Research provides important guidance for student researchers in the field of literature. Topics covered include writing research papers, evaluating online sources, citing sources, and avoiding plagiarism.
Fundamental College Composition: A Grammar and Style Guide by
This second edition of Fundamental College Composition: A Grammar and Style Guide (FCC: AGSG), contains nine new chapters designed to further assist college students in their journey to become clear and precise writers of English. College classrooms--even college level English courses themselves--often overlook the teaching of fundamental writing. Consequently, students may acquire content knowledge, but often lack the language skills necessary to either demonstrate or apply that knowledge. College-level study exposes students to ideas that are complex. A cursory study of grammar and the rules of basic language arts give students the tools they need to express complex ideas clearly and persuasively. FCC: AGSG provides systematic lessons that progressively build the students' understanding of the clarity and efficacy of language. Acquiring knowledge certainly deserves possession of the language skills to express it. Without those skills, education does not meet its primary objective. FCC: AGSG was written to assure exposure to those skills.
How to Write by
How to Write is an introductory guide to writing, aimed at people who think they can't write, or for whom writing is an ordeal. Broken down into short topic-based chapters on everything from beginning to revising, it demystifies the writing process by taking the reader through each stage necessary to bring a piece of writing to a decent finish. The book also offers a wealth of invaluable practical considerations, including when and where to write, when to printout and when to edit onscreen, what type of pen works well for revisions, and the hazards of the paperclip.The author is a seasoned writer whose encouraging but uncompromising guidance will delight as well as instruct. Offering practical advice in a lucid, no-nonsense style, How to Write will be ideal for both students and professional people who need to write during the course of their work.
How to Write a BA Thesis (2nd ed.) by
How to Write a BA Thesis is the only book that directly addresses the needs of undergraduate students writing a major paper. This book offers step-by-step advice on how to move from early ideas to finished paper. It covers choosing a topic, selecting an advisor, writing a proposal, conducting research, developing an argument, writing and editing the thesis, and making through a defense. Lipson also acknowledges the challenges that arise when tackling such a project, and he offers advice for breaking through writer's block and juggling school-life demands. This is a must-read for anyone writing a BA thesis, or for anyone who advises these students.
My Trade Is Mystery: Seven Meditations From a Life in Writing by
An invaluable companion for any writer seeking to make the writing life a more complex and cooperative venture "Illuminating, deeply endearing essays."--Ron Charles, Washington Post "A lovely, loving letter to aspiring writers."--Diego Báez, Booklist In these intimate and eloquent meditations, the award-winning poet Carl Phillips shares lessons he has learned about the writing life, an "apprenticeship to what can never fully be mastered." Drawing on forty years of teaching and mentoring emerging writers, he weaves his experiences as a poet with the necessary survival skills, including ambition, stamina, silence, politics, practice, audience, and community. In the tradition of Anne Lamott's Bird by Bird, Rainer Maria Rilke's Letters to a Young Poet, and Marcus Aurelius's Meditations, this is an invaluable companion for writers at every stage of their journey. Phillips's book serves as a partner in speculation and an invitation to embrace mystery.
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing by
Updated for the needs of today's studentsand with handy citation style guides adapted from The Chicago Manual of Style , Seventeenth Edition, the MLA Handbook , Eighth Edition, and the Publication Manual of the APA , Seventh Editionthe third edition of The Nuts and Bolt of College Writing offers essential guidance for college writers at all levels. Praise for previous editions: "This wonderful little book has helped improve the level of writing in all the courses I teach. No one should graduate from college without having used it." Gonzalo Munevar, Lawrence Technological University "With concision and wit, Harvey shows college students how to write papers that are clear, cogent, and also stylish." James Miller, editor, Dædalus "Simply the best guide to clear and effective writing since Strunk and White. Indispensable for studentsand for their teachers." Terry Nardin, University of Wisconsin--Milwaukee
Reading and Writing Successfully in College by
"This textbook provides students with guidelines for understanding writing tasks as intellectual work using Bloom's Taxonomy and for treating the writing process as a set of variable activities that move along a trajectory from idea or assignment to a finished product. The book also includes chapters on strengthening reading strategies and on finding, evaluating, and using sources effectively." About the Book section from Open Textbook Library
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers (5th ed.) by
Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Writing Past Dark: Envy, Fear, Distraction, and Other Dilemmas in the Writer’s Life by
Named One of "The Essential Books for Writing" (The Center for Fiction) and One of "The Best Books for Writers" (Poets & Writers) "In the spirit of Annie Dillard's The Writing Life, Friedman...gives heartfelt counsel to those who need to be coaxed into the creative process."--Washington Post An indispensable guide for writers that explores the emotional side of writing and offers insightful advice on overcoming writer's block, procrastination, guilt, and more. Charting the emotional side of the writer's life, Writing Past Dark is a writing companion to reach for when you feel lost and want to regain access to the memories, images, and the ideas inside you that are the fuel of strong writing. Combining personal narrative and other writers' experiences, Bonnie Friedman explores a whole array of emotions and dilemmas writers face--envy, distraction, guilt, and writer's block--and shares the clues that can set you free so that you can write the book you've always dreamed of writing. Supportive, intimate, and reflective, Writing Past Dark is a comfort and resource for all writers. "Friedman has saved many a writer's career with this one, and as my thank-you to her for writing it, I mention it to any and all readers and writers. Get a copy of this for your bookshelf." -- Literary Mama
Writing Rhetorically: Fostering Responsive Thinkers and Communicators by
In Writing Rhetorically: Fostering Responsive Thinkers and Communicators, author Jennifer Fletcher aims to cultivate independent learners through rhetorical thinking. She provides teachers with strategies and frameworks for writing instruction that can be applied across multiple subjects and lesson plans. Students learn to discover their own questions, design their own inquiry process, develop their own positions and purposes, make their own choices about content and form, and contribute to conversations that matter to them. Inside this book, Fletcher helps remove some of the scaffolding and explains how to put in practice some methods which can successfully foster: Inquiry, Invention, and Rhetorical Thinking Writing for Transfer Paraphrasing, Summary, Synthesis, and Citation Skills Research Skills and Processes Evidence-Based Reasoning Rhetorical Decision Making Rhetorical decision making helps students develop the skills, knowledge, and mindsets needed for transfer of learning: the ability to adapt and apply learning in new settings. The more choices students make as writers, the better prepared they are to analyze and respond to diverse rhetorical situations. Writing Rhetorically shows teachers what it looks like to dig into real texts with students and novice writers and how it develops them for lifelong learning.
The Craft of Research by
A thoroughly updated edition of a beloved classic that has guided generations of researchers in conducting effective and meaningful research. With more than a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from high-school students and first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to researchers in business and government. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to choose significant topics, pose genuine and productive questions, find and evaluate sources, build sound and compelling arguments, and convey those arguments effectively to others. While preserving the book's proven approach to the research process, as well as its general structure and accessible voice, this new edition acknowledges the many ways research is conducted and communicated today. Thoroughly revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald, it recognizes that research may lead to a product other than a paper--or no product at all--and includes a new chapter about effective presentations. It features fresh examples from a variety of fields that will appeal to today's students and other readers. It also accounts for new technologies used in research and offers basic guidelines for the appropriate use of generative AI. And it ends with an expanded chapter on ethics that addresses researchers' broader obligations to their research communities and audiences as well as systemic questions about ethical research practices. This new edition will be welcomed by a new and more diverse generation of researchers.
Nonfiction Notebooks: Strategies for Informational Writing by
In my classroom, I have found that through the support of notebook work, students can grow their writing and strengthen their ideas. With strong ideas, they can write better first drafts. The work we do in notebooks before rushing into a draft gives us time to envision our work, to find mentor texts we love, and to study those texts. In doing so, we actually are doing a lot of the "revision" on our "vision" before we write the draft. -- Nonfiction Notebooks Aimee Buckner has introduced writer's notebooks to hundreds of classrooms through her popular book Notebook Know-How, thereby helping students everywhere learn to improve their overall writing by focusing on essential prewriting strategies. Now, using the same format, Aimee explains how writer's notebooks can help students improve their nonfiction writing--reports, articles, memoirs, essays, and so forth--which has taken on even greater importance because of the emphasis the Common Core State Standards place on informative/explanatory writing. As Aimee explains, the prewriting work a student does is particularly important when writing informational pieces. Writer's notebooks help students capture their thoughts, develop ideas, explore mentor texts, refine a research strategy, and play with multiple outcomes--all of which lead to stronger concepts and better first drafts. Greater emphasis on the front end of the writing process also saves time and energy at the revision and editing stages. From exploring topics to gathering information to assessment, Nonfiction Notebooks takes teachers step-by-step through the process of how best to use notebooks for informational writing. Helpful reproducible forms are included both in the book and as downloads online.
On Writing Well: The Classic Guide to Writing Nonfiction by
"On Writing Well is a bible for a generation of writers looking for clues to clean, compelling prose." -New York Times A beloved classic, this definitive volume on the art of writing nonfiction celebrates its thirtieth anniversary. On Writing Well, which grew out of a course that William Zinsser taught at Yale, has been praised for its sound advice, its clarity, and for the warmth of its style. It is a book for anybody who wants to learn how to write or who needs to do some writing to get through the day, as almost everybody does. Whether you want to write about people or places, science and technology, business, sports, the arts, or about yourself in the increasingly popular memoir genre, On Writing Well offers you both fundamental principles as well as the insights of a distinguished practitioner. With over a million copies in print, this volume has stood the test of time and remains a valued resource for writers and would-be writers.
Readers Writing: Strategy Lessons for Responding to Narrative and Informational Text by
When faced with a blank page in their readers' notebooks, students often fall back on what is familiar: summarizing. Despite our best efforts to model through comprehension strategies what good readers do, many students struggle to transfer this knowledge and make it their own when writing independently about books. In Readers Writing, Elizabeth Hale offers ninety-one practical lessons that show teachers how students of all ability levels can use readers' notebooks to think critically, on their own, one step at a time. Each of the lessons uses a fiction or nonfiction book to address a comprehension strategy--questioning, connecting, analyzing, synthesizing, evaluating, visualizing, or monitoring--by showing students one specific way they can write about their thinking. Each lesson also provides an example of how to model the strategy. All of the lessons follow a similar format with five components--Name It, Why Do It?, Model It, Try It, and Share It--and include time for students to actively process what they learn by talking about and trying out the strategy in their readers' notebooks. Elizabeth also provides suggestions for supporting student independence, managing independent writing time, scaffolding comprehension of nonfiction texts as well as assessing and conferencing with readers' notebooks. Helpful appendices include a table that illustrates how each lesson aligns with the Common Core State Standards and a list of additional titles that can be used to demonstrate each of the ninety-one lessons. Readers Writing gives teachers a way to engage all children with readers' notebooks, to learn the language of thinking, one strategy at a time, and to become lifelong readers who can think and write critically on their own.
The Shape of Reason: Argumentative Writing in College by
Teaches critical reading, informal reasoning, and writing as reasoned inquiry, and features an anthology of arguments on civic and ethical issues. This book helps students understand argument as inquiry, stressing the responsibility that writers have - to their audience and to their own ideas - in structuring arguments that earn their conclusions.
Writing Argumentative Essays by
This brief rhetoric helps students develop strategies for critical reading, critical thinking, research, and writing that will help them argue clearly and convincingly. It teaches them to identify and develop arguments, to read and form reactions and opinions of their own, to analyze an audience, to seek common ground, and to use a wide, realistic range of techniques to write argument papers that express their individual views and original perspectives on modern issues. It includes clear explanations and examples of argument theory and reading and writing processes, research and documentation skills, and offers engaging, class-tested writing assignments and activities. 49 Essays for Analysis cover several broad issue and sub-issue areas, all of contemporary concern. Unique chapters discuss student argument styles, Rogerian argument, and argument and literature.
Writing to Persuade: An Editor’s Guide to Bringing People to Your Side by
In the tradition of The Elements of Style comes Trish Hall's essential new work on writing well--a sparkling instructional guide to persuading (almost) anyone, on (nearly) anything. As the person in charge of the Op-Ed page for the New York Times, Hall spent years immersed in argument, passion, and trendsetting ideas--but also in tangled sentences, migraine-inducing jargon, and dull-as-dishwater writing. Drawing on her vast experience editing everyone from Nobel Prize winners and global strongmen (Putin) to first-time pundits (Angelina Jolie), Hall presents the ultimate guide to writing persuasively for students, job applicants, and rookie authors looking to get published. She sets out the core principles for connecting with readers--laid out in illuminating chapters such as "Cultivate Empathy," "Abandon Jargon," and "Prune Ruthlessly." Combining boisterous anecdotes with practical advice (relayed in "tracked changes" bubbles), Hall offers an infinitely accessible primer on the art of effectively communicating above the digital noise of the twenty-first century.
Academic Research and Writing: Inquiry and Argument in College by
Guiding students through the research process and helping them build the skills they need for effective research, Academic Research and Writing: Inquiry and Argument in College presents a highly accessible look at the complex issues that typically come up in reading and constructing research projects. Academic Research and Writing: Inquiry and Argument in College shows students that research is important beyond the classroom and is a necessary component in any career. Beginning with coverage of skills and techniques, this comprehensive text then moves into specific kinds of academic research tasks, showing the generic features and constraints of academic writing. The main issues necessary for understanding how to read and construct research projects are discussed, including plagiarism, copyright and patents, conventions used by different discourse communities, and how writers use sources in different ways. The result is that students are drawn into the thinking process involved in research.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition by
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Fourth Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript. Lead Author and Editor Cynthia Saver removes the fear and confusion most nurses have about the writing and publishing process. Along the way, 25 of nursing's top writing experts and decision makers share important insights to increase the likelihood that your manuscript is accepted for publication. In this book, you will learn how to: ? Collaborate and coauthor with professionals in other healthcare disciplines ? Navigate interprofessional continuing education (IPCE) Write qualitative studies and report the different instruments used ? Avoid being the victim of predatory publishing? Turn your dissertation or capstone project into a published article? Write a letter to the editor or write a book review? Work with and manage contributors when writing a book? Understand open access, SQUIRE, APA, and more
Processes: Writing Across Academic Careers by
Processes: Writing Across Academic Careers is an edited collection showcasing the diversity of writing processes, styles, and formats in academia. Students, faculty, and staff share both published and unpublished work and reflect on their writing process as well as writing in their fields and disciplines. This book shows that, while writing looks and functions differently in different disciplines, college communities center on writing.The text's sections feature compositions from nursing, STEM and health sciences, education, and history and culture. The examples include reflections on the role of writing in one's academic career, examples of professional writing in the sciences, research papers, conference proposals, and laboratory reports. Each example is accompanied by a thoughtful reflection about how the author crafted their work.Students learning to write in college and in their specific disciplines will gain a holistic understanding of the kinds of writing they will encounter over the course of their academic careers and an appreciation for the multitudes of ways writers work.The writing featured is by students, faculty, and staff at Farmingdale State College, a State University of New York (SUNY) campus on Long Island. The collection was compiled and edited by the FSC Writing in the Disciplines committee.
The Writing Rope: A Framework for Explicit Writing Instruction in All Subjects by
"
Writing is a task as complex and multifaceted as reading—but it's often taught as a single skill. Discover how to plan and deliver comprehensive, explicit, and evidence-based writing instruction with this groundbreaking book, aligned with IDA's Structured Literacy approach and based on the latest research. Joan Sedita's innovative Writing Rope weaves multiple skills and strategies into five fundamentals of a comprehensive writing curriculum: critical thinking, syntax (sentences), text structure, writing craft, and transcription (spelling and handwriting). Teachers of Grades 4–8 will get crystal-clear guidelines that demystify the process of helping students learn to write and write to learn across academic content areas. And with dozens of included templates, handouts, and other resources—available for download online—teachers will have all the tools they need to design and deliver explicit, high-quality writing instruction. Perfect for professional development, this invaluable planning guide will help teachers apply the science of reading to the skill of writing—and help students master a critically important aspect of literacy. TEACHERS WILL: * Learn the fundamentals of effective writing instruction. Get research-based background knowledge about writing development, the five components of the Writing Rope framework, the role of fluent transcription skills in proficient writing, and the intentional choices proficient writers make about writing craft. * Apply evidence-based practices in the classroom. Teach essential skills all students must learn to become proficient writers, focusing on critical thinking strategies for generating ideas and gathering information before writing, strategies for each stage of the writing process, syntactic awareness and sentence writing, paragraph writing, and skillful structuring of different types of text. * Help students "write to learn." Teach students how to use writing to enhance their learning across different content areas. Learn how to plan effective writing assignments in different content areas, and explicitly teach students skills for summarizing texts and writing about narrative and expository text. PRACTICAL MATERIALS: Apply the Writing Rope framework to support your students' writing skills with classroom activities, Connect to Your Classroom questions, suggestions for scaffolding, a Writing Assignment Guide to use with any grade or content area, and 40+ reproducible instructional resources for students and teachers." Catalog description
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper by
This primer explains how to write clear, compelling, well-organized research papers. From picking a promising topic, to finding and digesting the pertinent literature, to developing a thesis, to outlining and presenting ideas, to editing for clarity and concision -- each step is broken down and illustrated with examples. In addition, a bonus chapter discusses how to combat procrastination. You will learn that the best writing is done in chunks over long periods of time and that writing is a skill that improves with practice. By following the advice in this book, you can not only get through dreaded writing assignments, but also become a more proficient writer. This book is part of APA's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.