Skip to Main Content

English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)

This library guide is for ESOL students. Find print and electronic resources for English grammar, writing, and reading. Also, check out this guide to explore Florida authors.

Translate from Databases

Some databases provided by Polk State College Library have a translation option. Here are some examples:

Gale

Databases provided by the vendor Gale often offer translation in several languages. These are databases with (Gale) after the name. 

For example, Academic OneFile (Gale)

A screenshot showing the translation option on a Gale database

 

Choose the desired translation

Click on "Complete translation" to get the full translation of the resource

A screenshot showing how to complete the translation

EBSCO 

EBSCO database, like Academic Search Complete (EBSCO), allow you to translate both the database and the resources in it.

Here is how to translate the database: 

A screenshot showing how to change the language of the database in EBSCO

For example, here is how the database looks when translated to Spanish:

A screenshot showing an EBSO database when translated to Spanish

Here is how to translate an article:

Click on the article's title. Under Tools choose the Translate option.

Screenshot of EBSCO database. Shows Tools sidebar and Translate option.

Now, choose a language and then click Translate. 

Screenshot of EBSO database. Showing how to choose a language and click Translate.

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/compliance.