Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Issues Research; ENC1102, Prof. Siler: Newspaper Article Databases

Finding Large Collections of Newspapers Among the Databases

Most of our 100+ library databases include some newspaper articles. However there are a few that specialize in newspaper collections.

To easily view these options sort the A-Z database list by Subject by selecting the gray "Subject" button at the top.

Then select the "+" to the left of "News and Current Events" to expand that selection. 

Image of databases sorted by subject      Polk State Databases sorted by subject with the newspaper and current events subject expanded

 

Notice there are multiple "Newsbank" databases. Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) is the largest collection. America's News and Florida Newspapers are subsets of this larger collection.  

Tip: When using any of the Newsbank databases, you will want to make good use of the many filtering options provided to narrow your search. This will help prevent you from getting numerous duplicate articles.

Note: Our system was updated in March 2021 to single sign on access using Passport. This page will be updated in the next week to reflect that. 

To view our old database list, select this link for Articles/Databases

OLD LINCC login: Use your student ID number as the Borrower ID and the last 4 digits of your student ID as the PIN. (Note: Polk State must also be selected in the drop-down menu for College).

Newsbank

Access World News (Newsbank):

 

Florida Newspaper Database (Gale)

Main Search Screen for the Florida Newspaper Database (Gale)

Searching in the Florida Newspaper Database is nearly identical to searching in Gale's Academic OneFile database. View the Academic OneFile tab in the dropdown menu above for information on how to search, filer results, view articles, email articles to yourself (so you don't need to find them again later), and copy databases generated citations for articles.

Remember to verify the formatting is correct before submitting your assignment(s).

Folded newspapers, stacked beside a coffee cup

Photo courtesy of Pixabay

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.