Paper #2 - Keeping Schools Safe - ENC 1102 - Current Issues Research: Prof. Siler

Paper #2 Keeping Schools Safe

Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas - June 2022

Paper Guidelines:

Write a 2 ½ - 4 page persuasive paper discussing a specific topic within the broad framework of Keeping Schools Safe. Minimum length is a 5 paragraph essay.

Preparation and Presentation of paper:

Rely heavily on Chapter 15.
The "Template for Writing an Ethical Argument" at the end of CH 15 could be very useful as you plan your essay. Exercise 15.6 also will help you plan and organize your essay.
Determine the position you would like to discuss. (Most of the essays in the text argued either for or against arming teachers. You may choose a position on arming teachers OR you may opt for something different.)
This paper should be a synthesis of your research supporting your thesis. You will need to cite at least 2 sources within your paper. Include proper in-text citations and a correct Works Cited page. Remember that citations to essays in our text use the last name of the author(s) of the essay in-text. The citation is prepared following the guidelines for a selection from an anthology.

Papers that do not include both parenthetical and bibliographic references to at least 2 sources will be returned to the writer for revision and assessed the standard late-penalty.

Almost done? Time for a fresh look at your paper.

Before you turn in your paper, take a moment to verify your paper meets these requirements from the grading rubric.

Does your essay:

Address the prompt, and thoughts are developed in an organized essay.
Discussion develops an arguable point, demonstrates insight, and exhibits understanding of the piece being discussed.
Follow MLA guidelines.
Ethical use of sources to provide evidence for discussion points

Consult the full rubric in Canvas for additional guidance.

Recommended Databases

Not sure which database to select to start your research? The databases below are the most likely to have information for this assignment. Not sure how to search? Check out the "Finding Articles" tabs (in red) at the top of this guide. The dropdowns illustrate how to search and gather citations in our most popular databases.

Sign in using your Passport credentials:

Your Student ID number & Password (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Hover over the "i" to learn more about a particular database.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window

You might also want to try one or more of these:

Educators Reference Complete (Gale) This link opens in a new window This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
Global Issues In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
Sage Journals (Sage) This link opens in a new window SAGE is the worlds 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Recommended Websites

These website might come in handy when starting to research your human trafficking topic. You are not limited to these websites, they are just a possible starting point.

SchoolSafety.gov "...Information, resources, guidance, and evidence-based practices on a range of school safety topics and threats."
Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) "Starting place for DHS documents, resources and tools related to school safety and security."
OPPAGA - Education System (FL): School Safety, Security, & Discipline Includes information and resources specific to FL, including links to the Office of Safe Schools.
Office of Justice Programs - School Safety Special safety guide including pages dedicated to bullying, violence, training, and additional resources. Also includes link to the current annual school crime and safety report from the BJS & NCES.
Report on Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2021 Annual report from the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) & the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) (published online on June 30, 2022).
Polk County Public Schools - Safe Schools Resources for Polk County Public Schools
PSC Library Books & eBooks on School Safety Polk State Library Topics Guide - includes suggested books, ebooks, and database suggestions on the topic of School Safety.

Note: Refer to the "websites" tab in this library guide for guidance on selecting a reputable website.

ENC 1102 - Current Issues Research: Prof. Siler: Paper #2 - Keeping Schools Safe