Current Issues Research Project - ENC 1102 - Current Issues Research: Prof. Siler

Current Issues Research Project - The Highlights

What Should I Do?

Choose a topic, discussed in the CQ Researcher library database, of current national or global importance. Hint: You can use the "browse topics" option near the top of the database if you are unsure what you would like to research.
You may choose from any CQ Researcher article appearing between 2017 and now - except you may NOT choose: abortion, capital punishment, gun control, hazing, serial killers, cosmetic surgery, eating disorders, or teen pregnancy.
Use the CQ Researcher article to gather a strong foundation in the topic. Then, formulate a question to help you narrow the focus of your research.
Find a variety of other sources that discuss the various points associated with your issue. Use the techniques you learned while researching for Paper #1 & Paper #2. Your sources must include:

1 CQ Researcher article (2017 or later)
2 sources from periodicals--magazines, journals, or newspapers, obtained from print, an online version of a source, or through PCC library’s electronic databases
1 source that originally came from a book - Opposing Viewpoints database is great for these AND the library's catalog has thousands of ebooks you can access from home
1 relevant website

Cartoon Gif of a globe with a boo-boo made better

Gif from Giphy, created by James Pierchod

Current Issues - Sample Outline

Prof Siler - Sample Outline A model outline that is well on its way toward becoming a research paper. Contains a wealth of material that has been mined from the students' notes, so your outlines will not be this elaborate when you submit them to the Working Outline dropbox, but you can use the flexibility of word processing to build your paper as this student did.

Current Issues Assignment PDFs

View or download PDF versions of the Current Issues Research Assignment below. For due dates, check the calendar or assignment area in your Canvas course.

Recommended Databases

Begin by selecting an approved topic in the CQ Researcher database.

Sign in using your Passport credentials:

Your Student ID number & Password (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, written by professional journalists. Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Full length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

Try searching in one of these next!

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Includes coverage on a broad range of subjects, including the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text database, with a little bit on just about any topic. This database also features PDF content going back as far as 1865.
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Issues In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. It offers global perspectives on issues of international importance.

Catalog and Database Search

Search Polk State College's library resources here:

3 Time Saving Tips

Tip 1 - When searching, you will get better results using key words or synonyms instead of full sentences.

Tip 2 - Keep track of where the information you might use is coming from. Start creating a working works cited document in Word, even if it only includes permalinks.

Tip 3 - Use the library's databases when possible, emailing articles to yourself and copying the database generated citations as you go. This will save you a lot of work later!

AskALibrarian

Four+ Assignments in One!

What "Assignments" to Turn in Related to this Project and Their Main Highlights:

1. Working Outine - Including your thesis

2. Research proposal:

Part 1: (1 page) Topic explanation, research question, background information, statistics, relevance, your interest in topic, & your sources
Part 2: Updated working outline

3. Annotated Bibliography - Include at least 5 sources:

3 sources from magazines/journals/newspapers (including 1 CQ Researcher article)
1 book (Opposing Viewpoint database articles will also be accepted)
1 relevant website.

4. Research project

6-8 pages of text
Minimum of 5 references (1 CQ Researcher article, 2 periodicals, 1 book, & 1 relevant website)
Minimum of 2 in-text citations in each paragraph (other than the introduction and conclusion).
You must also make use of recent statistics at least twice within your paper.

5. TLCC Extra Credit!

Note: Consult the PDFs on the left and your modules and assignments pages in Canvas for full details on these assignments, as well as the grading rubrics :-)

Selecting a Topic

As you may already have discovered this is often the hardest step in the research paper writing process. It is also a very important step. If you choose a topic that is very broad - "Poverty" - you will be overwhelmed with information and you will have difficulty organizing your ideas and findings into a manageable, cohesive paper. If you choose a topic that is very narrow - "Gifted Children Living in Poverty Benefit From Having Pet Fish" - obviously, you will have trouble finding enough sources to support your paper. Take time to focus your topic.

If you can, try to choose a topic that truly interests you. Thankfully, controversial topics (like those in CQ Researcher) are often the most interesting topics!

Not finding enough sources?

You may need to use different search terms/databases

*Still have no idea what (general) topic to choose?

Polk LibGuide on Research Paper Topics
List from Midway University: Top 100 Research Paper Topics
Check out this short video on developing a research paper topic:

*Remember to get your selected topic approved by Professor Siler.

ENC 1102 - Current Issues Research: Prof. Siler: Current Issues Research Project