Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Links to journals found in PSC's databases. To log in to the databases, the Borrower ID is your student ID (A12345678) and the PIN is the last four numbers of your student ID (5678).
Provides information for both radiologists and radiologic technologists in diagnostic radiology, radiation therapy, computed tomography, ultrasound, thermography, MRI and nuclear medicine.
Bimonthly newsmagazine from ASRT includes information for and about medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals.
Covers all disciplines and specialties within medical imaging, and features continuing education articles and columns of interest to members of the profession.
National and International Organizations
CDC: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
From the United States Centers of Disease Control, covers current topics and news.
Florida Board of Radiologic Technology
FAQ, forms, documents, applications, approved programs, and Florida law.
Radiological Society of North America
Annual membership, education, publications, career information, international section, etc.
Career Resource Links
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
Testing, Certification, Credentials, Continuing Education, Ethics, and Annual Registration.
Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
The only agency recognized by the United States Department of Education for the accreditation of radiography-related educational programs.
Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences: Radiography
Career description, national programs, and professional organizations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic Technologists and Technicians
Complete, current career description for radiologic technologists and technicians, updated every year.
Polk State College: Radiography Program
PSC's radiography program, classes, and requirements, based on its online catalog.
Radiology Journal Online
Monthly journal published by the Radiological Society of North America. Requies registration and payment.
Radiography Program at Polk State College
The radiographer is a licensed professional who is primarily responsible for applying ionizing radiation to demonstrate portions of the human body on a radiograph, fluoroscopic screen, or other imaging modality to assist the physician in the diagnosis of disease and injury. Radiographers work in hospitals, private practices, clinics, traveling agencies, and other qualified facilities. The Radiography program provides its students an organized curriculum that includes courses in general education and radiological education, while preparing students for careers as members of the healthcare team.
Click here for the Polk State College Radiography Program page.
Ct Anatomy for Radiotherapy by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Knowledge of CT anatomy is increasingly vital in daily radiotherapy practice, especially with more widespread use of cross-sectional image-guided radiotherapy (IGRT) techniques. Existing CT anatomy texts are predominantly written for the diagnostic practitioner and do not always address the radiotherapy issues while emphasising structures that are not common to radiotherapy practice. OC CT Anatomy for RadiotherapyOCO is a new radiotherapy-specific text that is intended to prepare the reader for CT interpretation for both IGRT and treatment planning. It is suitable for undergraduate students, qualified therapy radiographers, dosimetrists and may be of interest to Knowledge of CT anatomy is increasingly vital in daily radiotherapy practice, especially with more widespread use of cross-sectional image-guided radiotherapy (IGRT) techniques. Existing CT anatomy texts are predominantly written for the diagnostic practitioner and do not always address the radiotherapy issues while emphasising structures that are not common to radiotherapy practice. OC CT Anatomy for RadiotherapyOCO is a new radiotherapy-specific text that is intended to prepare the reader for CT interpretation for both IGRT and treatment planning. It is suitable for undergraduate students, qualified therapy radiographers, dosimetrists and may be of interest to oncologists and registrars engaged in treatment planning. All essential structures relevant to radiotherapy are described and depicted on 3D images generated from radiotherapy planning systems. System-based labelled CT images taken in relevant imaging planes and patient positions build up understanding of relational anatomy and CT interpretation. Images are accompanied by comprehensive commentary to aid with interpretation. This simplified approach is used to empower the reader to rapidly gain image interpretation skills. The book pays special attention to lymph node identification as well as featuring a unique section on Head and Neck Deep Spaces to help understanding of common pathways of tumour spread. Fully labelled CT images using radiotherapy-specific views and positioning are complemented where relevant by MR and fusion images. A brief introduction to image interpretation using IGRT devices is also covered. The focus of the book is on radiotherapy and some images of common tumour pathologies are utilised to illustrate some relevant abnormal anatomy. Short self-test questions help to keep the reader engaged throughout."
Check out these new e-book titles purchased for Allied Health classes. E-books are just like paperbound books in that they are full text, fully searchable, and include all the full-color illustrations and tables. E-books are checked out using your student i.d. and are available to you for 1 hour. They can be renewed multiple times.
Diagnostic Imaging by
Publication Date: 2013-04-29
Diagnostic Imaging will help medical students, junior doctors, residents and trainee radiologists understand the principles behind interpreting all forms of imaging. Providing a balanced account of all the imaging modalities available ? including plain film, ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, radionuclide imaging and interventional radiology ? it explains the techniques used and the indications for their use. Organised by body system, it covers all anatomical regions. In each region the authors discuss the most suitable imaging technique and provide guidelines for interpretation, illustrating clinical problems with normal and abnormal images. Diagnostic Imaging is extensively illustrated throughout, featuring high quality full-colour images and more than 600 photographs. The images are downloadable in PowerPoint format from the brand new companion website at www.wileydiagnosticimaging.com, which also has over 100 interactive MCQs, to aid learning and teaching. When you purchase the book you also receive access to the Wiley E-Text: Powered by VitalSource. This is an interactive digital version of the book, featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, bookmarking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and abbreviations. Diagnostic Imaging is also available on CourseSmart, offering extra functionality as well as an immediate way to access the book. For more details, see www.coursesmart.com or ?The Anytime, Anywhere Textbook ? section.
Essential Radiology: Clinical Presentation Pathophysiology Imaging by
Publication Date: Feb 1, 2014
Instructors will find this an ideal book for courses; the book can be read cover-to-cover during a month-long resident elective or medical student clerkship, for example.This book is highly recommended. American Journal of Roentgenology
Essentials of Radiology by
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
Take image interpreting one step at a time with Essentials of Radiology, the most accessible radiology text on the market for gaining a foothold on the fundamentals. Breathe easy - this reference assumes no prior knowledge of radiology, making it the perfect choice for anyone just starting out in the field. Whether you're a student or resident, you'll appreciate how expert radiologist, Dr. Mettler, masterfully distills all the information you need, in precisely the right way. Gain a rich understanding of recent advances in the diagnostic imaging of abdominal, pelvic, and retroperitoneal conditions, and take advantage of this text's sharp focus on the most common pathologic entities and rarer life-threatening conditions. Explore the radiologic evaluation of headaches, hypertension, low back pain, and other challenging conditions. Approach imaging with confidence through the help of Dr. Mettler's straightforward, digestible, and enjoyable style. He makes it simple to learn the radiology basics by breaking down chapters into bodily regions or systems, equipping you with easily referenced and useful information. Take the mystery out of interpreting any image by viewing over 500 outstanding pictures. Images of disease entities are shown alongside normal ones, offering you an ideal frame of reference for accurate interpretation. Understand and apply the latest diagnostic imaging techniques with a completely updated text that mirrors today's most recent advances. Conveniently access the full text and image library online at www.expertconsult.com.
Introduction to Medical Imaging by
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2010-11-18
Covering the basics of X-rays, CT, PET, nuclear medicine, ultrasound, and MRI, this textbook provides senior undergraduate and beginning graduate students with a broad introduction to medical imaging. Over 130 end-of-chapter exercises are included, in addition to solved example problems, which enable students to master the theory as well as providing them with the tools needed to solve more difficult problems. The basic theory, instrumentation and state-of-the-art techniques and applications are covered, bringing students immediately up-to-date with recent developments, such as combined computed tomography/positron emission tomography, multi-slice CT, four-dimensional ultrasound, and parallel imaging MR technology. Clinical examples provide practical applications of physics and engineering knowledge to medicine. Finally, helpful references to specialised texts, recent review articles, and relevant scientific journals are provided at the end of each chapter, making this an ideal textbook for a one-semester course in medical imaging.
Learning Radiology by
Publication Date: 2011-04-14
Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics, 2nd Edition, is an image-filled, practical, and clinical introduction to this integral part of the diagnostic process. William Herring, MD, a skilled radiology teacher, masterfully covers everything you need to know to effectively interpret medical images. Learn the latest on ultrasound, MRI, CT, and more, in a time-friendly format with brief, bulleted text and abundant high-quality images. Then ensure your mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and self-assessment exercises at www.studentconsult.com. Identify a wide range of common and uncommon conditions based upon their imaging findings. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through easy-access bulleted text and more than 700 images. Arrive at diagnoses by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Learn from the best, as Dr. Herring is both a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Easily master the fundamental principles of MRI, ultrasound, and CT with new chapters that cover principles of each modality and the recognition of normal and abnormal findings. Know the basics and be more confident when interpreting diagnostic imaging studies
Radiography in the Digital Age by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are 644 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. The two chapters on digital image processing alone include 60 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Obsolete and extraneous material has been eliminated, while concepts supporting digital imaging are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts, which bear directly upon the production of x-rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. No fewer than ten chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, providing extensive coverage of the physics of digital image capture, digital processing techniques, and the practical applications of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and of electronic images. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The radiation biology is clearly presented with numerous lucid illustrations, and a balanced perspective on radiation and its medical use is developed. To reinforce mathematical concepts for the student, dozens of practice exercises are strategically dispersed throughout the chapters, with answer keys provided in the appendix. Extensive review questions at the end of each chapter give a thorough, comprehensive review of the material learned. The Instructor Resources for Radiography in the Digital Age, available on disc, includes the answer key for all chapter review questions and a bank of over 1500 multiple-choice questions for instructorsOCO use. It also includes 35 laboratory exercises, including 15 that demonstrate the applications of CR equipment."