Skip to Main Content

Airside Programs and Library Services: How to search databases

Library resources supporting Cardiovascular Technology, Radiography, and Diagnostic Medical Sonography programs at Polk State College, as well as information about the Airside Library.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your @my.polk.edu email credentials. 

If you have trouble, try going to MyPolk Email and clicking on "can't access your account," sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. 

You can also get help from Ask a Librarian. 

 

Ask a Librarian

Example of searching the database for an article

The tutorial below is an example of finding articles in just one database -- Academic Search Complete.

From the Library homepage, click on the Articles/Databases link.

From there, you can select a database (which is where you can find articles). After selecting a database, you will need to log in using your Passport credentials. See  how to log in using your Passport credentials.

9 STEPS

1. The first step is to open https://www.polk.edu/ and click Library/TLCC

Step 1 image

2. Click Articles/Databases

Step 2 image

3. This is a list of all Polk State databases. Click one of the databases (Academic Search Complete).

Next, you will be asked to log in.

Step 3 image

4. Click Student Login and log in with your Passport credentials.

Student ID number and Passport PIN (default is the two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth. It needs to be a 4-to-6-digit number)

Step 4 image

5. Click the search box to enter in your search terms.

Step 5 image

6. Check the Full Text box to get the entire document and not just the abstract.

Step 6 image

7. Click Search

Step 7 image

8. Here are your results! Click Access Options under an article see the Full Text.

Step 8 image

9. Click Online Full Text to read the full article from your browser.

Congratulations! You're done with this tutorial.

Step 9 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

** Best experienced in Full Screen (click the icon in the top right corner before you begin) **

https://www.iorad.com/player/2493595/How-to-access-the-library-databases

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/compliance.